Category: Cultural Heritage

“Elektrownia” Contemporary Art Gallery

Still until the mid 1990s, the time in the mine power plant was measured by the rhythm of miners’ work. It lasted for over 100 years when from the beginning of its history the mine, which was part of the estate of the Mining and Industrial Association “Saturn”, was managed by Charles William II Scheibler and Alfred Biedermann, known as “kings of Łódź cotton”, representing the richest Europeans of those times. Today, the former power plant is vibrant with new life - passing days and months determine dates of subsequent artistic meetings. In the entourage of powerful machines which are hiding an exceptional beauty inside, and once they generated electric energy, among flywheels with the names of their owners and control desks, the work is still going on - this is the energy derived from countless sources of art! Current power plant is an open space, friendly for anyone, not only for connoisseurs and experts. Everyone will find something interesting in the “Power Plant”. Route chronicle The entire truth and legend of the “Promised Land” by Reymont is connected with the “Power Plant” Gallery. It was inter alia in Zagłębie Dąbrowskie where owners and administrators of the Mining and Industrial Association “Saturn” - Charles II Scheibler and Alfred, Ph.D., had their industrial assets - Łódź was their industrial “nursery”, while in Zagłębie the following plants operated for the purposes of the textile production: three mines: Saturn - in Czeladź and Mars and Jowisz in Wojkowice, cement mills and sawmills; here they had shares in the association “Power and energy” and Dąbrowa Trams. Minister Eugeniusz Kwiatkowski visited them in Czeladź to honour them with highest awards for the contribution in the development of Polish industry. When Andrzej Wajda was making the film “Promised Land”, in the power plant in Czeladź a large flywheel was found which was the reason of the death of one of the workers. The wheel exists until this day - and in 1903, when it was placed here, it was named... Charles.
street Dehnelów 45
41-250 Czeladź
Upper Silesian Agglomeration, Dąbrowa Basin
in the city/town
Contact data
: +48 32 263 00 88
General Information
: cultural & art institutions, expositions/exhibitions, architectural monuments, technology monuments, galleries
Prices & amenities
: admission free
: whole year

After prior arrangement by telephone


Nie jesteś zalogowany. Aby skorzystać z planera podróży musisz się zalogować.

Przejdź do strony logowania.

Sound files

An immense silhouette of the church of Saint Stanislaus, Bishop and Martyr dominates the old town in Czeladź. The building was erected at the beginning of the last century, on the site where successive churches had been standing probably as early as since the thirteenth century. The church is a neo-Romanesque basilica, with some Gothic features. Inside, there are some elements from the older church. Professors Makarewicz and Zin called the church “The Notre Dame of Czeladź”.
Czeladź is an industrial town situated in Zagłębie Dąbrowskie, which may be proud of its history dating back to the Middle Ages. Despite the turmoil of history, the historic urban layout of the city with a nice old town has been preserved to this day. We can find here precious monuments - the eighteenth-century house with a characteristic pedimental roof and arcades located at 3 Kościelna Street is worth special attention. He recalls what old Czeladź once looked like.
Czeladź was granted the city rights by Duke Ladislaus of Opole and Racibórz, probably in the 60s of the thirteenth century. It was then that the typical medieval urban layout was created, with a market square in the center, a grid plan of streets and a parish church, enclosed in an oval fortification. On the market square, there are two preserved historic tenements houses, evoking the look of the old city.
Siemianowice Śląskie
In Siemianowice Śląskie, in the vicinty of the Park Pszczelnik, there is a Silesian Golf Club golf course. The golf course area (40 ha) has got 18 holes, 72 pairs.
The district of Piaski is located in the southern part of Czeladź. Coal was mined in this area until the end of the last century. For many years, the mine "Czeladź" belonged to the French mine At the turn of the nineteenth and twentieth century, a settlement was built here, with houses of the miners, officials’ houses, the director’s residence, and public utilities. The most impressive building is the church of Our Lady of Sorrows.
Siemianowice Śląskie
The church of the Holy Cross in Siemianowice Śląskie was built between 1881 and 1884. However, the origins of the parish date back to the mid-nineteenth century, when efforts were made to erect a temporary church. It was achieved in 1867. An independent parish was established in 1872. The Siemianowice church building and its interior are the neo-Gothic style.
See more
Silesian Tastes Culinary Trail
Restaurant "Kuchnia Otwarta" specializes in a traditional Polish cuisine, and all the dishes served are based exclusivel... More>>
Moodro Restaurant is a unique place located in the old engine building belonging to the Silesian Museum in Katowice. The... More>>
The restaurant sunlight is the hotel’s flagship, available not only for hotel guests. The restaurant, flooded with natur... More>>
W hotelu znajduję się nowoczesna Restauracja SmaQ, która ze względu na swoją lokalizację w centrum miasta, stanowi ideal... More>>
Hotel „Pod Filarami” znajduje się w zieleni parku miejskiego tak więc zapewnia wypoczynek w miłej, spokojnej atmosferze, z dala od ruchu miejskiego. Jednocześnie usytuowanie hotelu w centrum aglomeracji Śląska i Zagłębia – w odległości 8-15 km od największych miast regionu – zapewnia szybki i wygodny dojazd do centrum Katowic, Będzina, Sosnowca czy Dąbrowy Górniczej.
Siemianowice Śląskie
The accommodation, rooms for 2 - and 3 - bed rooms with full bathroom, possibility to organize recreational and cultural events.
See more