Category: Cultural Heritage

The Church of St Peter and St Paul in Koty

Koty is a village in the commune of Tworóg, in the district of Tarnowskie Góry. The nearby villages are old settlements of ironworkers, where iron was smelted as early as the Middle Ages. The name of the village is associated with the name of one of the owners of the ironworks. The church in Koty is an eighteenth-century building erected on the site of the previous wooden church. The Baroque building was repeatedly subjected to extensive repairs and reconstructions.

street Szkolna 7
42-690 Koty
Upper Silesian Agglomeration
in the country
Contact data
General Information
: churches
Prices & amenities
: admission free
: whole year
Sound files

The present palace in Tworóg, which is a large communal village situated on the banks of the river Stoła amid the vast Lubliniec Forests, comes from the second half of the eighteenth century. It is a Classicist building. It was erected at the time, when the Collon family was the owners of Tworóg. After them, the palace belonged to the Renard family and later, to the Princes zu Hohenlohe Ingelfingen. At present, the palace houses offices of the communal authorities.
Although the present church of Saint Anthony of Padua in Tworóg was built only at the beginning of the nineteenth century, the worship of the one of the most popular saints of the Catholic Church had been introduced here already in the seventeenth century. The church in its modern form is a result of the reconstruction carried out in 1905-1906. It was rebuilt in the late-Baroque style. The church boasts of a famous miraculous image of Saint Anthony
The chapel of the Holy Sepulchre and St Medard in one of the most original religious monuments of the district of Tarnowskie Góry. This small chapel was founded by Count Jerzy Leonard Colonna, the owner of the castle in Tworóg in the second half of the seventeenth century. It was to serve smelters and all the inhabitants of the village situated in the deep forest. The model for the chapel was the Holy Sepulchre in Jerusalem. An unusual division of the interior and the altar with the figure of Christ in the tomb are worth of attention.
At the beginning of the twentieth century, the village of Brynek, located northwest of Tarnowskie Góry, became the seat of one of the branches of the wealthy family of Henckel von Donnersmarck. Its founder, Hugo II, built a neo-baroque palace here, which has survived almost unchanged to this day. The building now houses a dormitory of the technical secondary school of forestry. In the vicinity of the palace, there is a vast park with a botanical garden.
Brynek’s pride, a village located near Tarnowskie Góry, is the palace of the Henckel von Donnersmarck family surrounded with a large palace park with an area of about 36 hectares. The park was founded in the early nineteenth century. It is an English landscape park. In the early twentieth century, outbuildings associated with the new palace of the Donnersmarck were erected in the park. An interesting place is the botanical garden run by the local Forestry Technical College.
The Leisure Center "Posmyk" in Lubliniec Kokotek is located in a quiet and picturesque area of the Lubliniec Forests and numerous ponds. You can breathe here exceptionally clean air, cycle along trails or go for a horseback ride. The centre is situated at the large pond called “Posmyk”, so water sports enthusiasts will also find something for themselves - kayaks, sailboats, pedal boats and pontoons.
See more
Silesian Tastes Culinary Trail
Coal mine shaft Maciej is a complex of buildings of the former coal mine "Concordia", which is situated in the district... More>>
Restaurant "Kuchnia Otwarta" specializes in a traditional Polish cuisine, and all the dishes served are based exclusivel... More>>
The restaurant sunlight is the hotel’s flagship, available not only for hotel guests. The restaurant, flooded with natur... More>>