Category: Cultural Heritage

The Wooden Water Mill in Biała Wielka

Biała Wielka and its surroundings lie off the beaten track. The place is worth visiting. There are two historic manors and old milling facilities. Milling was a popular trade in the region. In Biała Wielka we can see a water mill from 1935, which is still in operation. A picturesque surrounding encourages walking and longer hikes. A visit to the mill can be combined with a short white water rafting on the Biała Lelowska river.

Biała Wielka
Kraków-Częstochowa Jura
in the country
General Information
: wooden architecture, postindustrial, architectural monuments
Prices & amenities
: not applicable
: whole year
Sound files

Biała Wielka
A small palace stands in the village of Biała Wielka near Lelów. It was built for Ignacy Zwierkowski at the turn of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. In the first half of the nineteenth century the owner of the palace was Walenty Zwierkowski, a legendary Napoleonic soldier, and later, it belonged to the Schuetzs, excellent administrators. After WW2, a school was housed in the palace, and now it is privately owned. The Classicist, two-storey building is surrounded with a landscape park.
The Białka Lelowska is a short, left tributary of the Pilica. Its sources are located in the village of Irządze, and its mouth in Koniecpol. The river flows mostly through fields and meadows and wooded area. The Special Protected Area of Natural Habitats of the Białka Lelowska is part of the Natura 2000 Network. It covers more than seven hectares of land between Białka Wielka and Wąsosz. Along this section the riverbed is sandy bottom. The clean water of the river is home to brook trout. We can also encounter, among others, beavers and otters here.
Biała Wielka
In Bogumiłek, a picturesquely situated settlement among the woods settlement near the village of Biały Lelów, there are a well maintained park and manor buildings, which are nearly a hundred years old. The mansion was erected by Antoni Schütz in the 1920s. Antoni Schütz was a member of the distinguished family who contributed to the economic development of this region. They came to Poland from Saxony in the second half of the eighteenth century. Since 1969, the manor has housed the Jan Brzechwa Special Education Centre.
The Sanctuary of Our Lady of Consolation of Lelów is associated with the parish church of Saint Martin. The original church was erected in the fourteenth century here. Restored after a fire in 1638, it burned down again in 1939. The invading German soldiers set it on fire. The Image of Our Lady is venerated in the shrine. It is a replica of the original, seventeenth-century picture. It was made by Czesław Ćwinarowicz in 1948 for the newly rebuilt church.
See more
Silesian Tastes Culinary Trail
The restaurant is located in a picturesque area of Krakow-Czestochowa Upland and offers traditional Polish, Jurassic an... More>>
Hotel Villa Verde Restaurant is located in the heart of Cracow-Czestochowa Upland, near Zawiercie. It is surrounded by f... More>>
Two-storey restaurant tempts with its own beer and exceptional cuisine with well-known regional dishes such as buttermil... More>>
The restaurant is located in a city centre, in historic cellars of City Hall.