Chełm Śląski is a small communal village, situated at the
mouth of the Vistula and the Przemsza, at the border
between the provinces of Silesia and Lesser Poland. The
landscape of the village is dominated by a stately brick
church of the Holy Trinity - the seat of the parish, which is
400 years old. The current neo-Baroque shape of the church,
with a high tower, is the effect of the nineteenth-and
twentieth-century enlargement of the older facility.
There is a special, protected area of natural habitats of the Natura 2000 network to the north-west of Chełm Śląski, in the village of Błędów. It comprises a mining cavity with the nearby surroundings. It was established to protect peat bogs, marshes and swap forests, where there are rare species of dragonflies, including the large white-faced darter and the pygmy damselfly. We can also see a sad memorial place – a nineteenth-century cholera victims’ cemetery on the nearby hill of Smutna Góra.
The wooden Church of Saint Valentine in Bieruń Stary is affectionately called “Walencink” by local people. Walencik means little Valentine in Polish. We do not know the exact date of its foundation. The first written mention of the building dates back to 1628 and comes from a report of the visit paid by Johann Hoffman, who was the last Protestant dean of Pszczyna. Therefore, the church is supposed to have been founded at the end of the sixteenth century or at the beginning of the next century. The wooden Church of Saint Valentine is situated on the Wooden Architecture Route of the Silesia province.
In Stary Bieruń old, which is the historic center of presentday Bieruń, there are material traces of the once presence of
a modest but influential Jewish community. Most telling are
the remains of the cemetery, which are located at Świętego
Wita, on the Mleczna river. The cemetery occupies a small,
thickly forested area. Behind the wall and the gate you can
see about 50 tombstones, the oldest of which are dated
from the eighteenth century.
Did Saints Cyril and Methodius, the Apostles of the Slavs, come with the mission of evangelization to Silesia in the ninth century? Tradition and many people say that the place where they could have preached the Good News was the hill named Klemensowa Góra in Lędziny. The hill, on which the church of Saint Clement stands, is clearly visible from Tychy. The shrine was built in the years 1769-1772, and it blended so well with the landscape that its image was even placed in the coat of arms of the city.
In Imielin, a small town located just south of Mysłowice,
there is an interesting, neo-Gothic parish church of Our Lady of the Scapular
of Mount Carmel. The present building of the church was
built in the postwar years, as a result of a significant
expansion of the older building. The designer of the church
was architect Jan Kapołka, stylistically referred to Gothic
patterns that are characterized by peaks and turrets -