One of the most beautiful buildings of Gliwice stands at the corner of Zwycięstwa and Kłonicka Streets – the edifice of the former “Schlesischer Hoff” Hotel (“Silesian Manor House”), which today houses the “Diament” Hotel. The construction was completed in 1896. Stylish elements borrowed from Mannerism, Renaissance and Baroque give the appearance to the building.
street Zwycięstwa 30
Tourist region: Upper Silesian Agglomeration
Location: in the city/town, in the city/town centre
: 32 231 22 44
: architectural monuments
Prices & amenities
: gastronomy, accommodation base
: whole year
Nie jesteś zalogowany. Aby skorzystać z planera podróży musisz się zalogować.
Despite its relatively small size, the building of the former Erwin Weichmann’s Textile House (Seidenhaus Weichmann in German) in Gliwice is the most interesting architectural enterprises in the city on the Kłodnica. The edifice was erected in Zwycięstwa Street (then Wilhelmstrasse) in 1921-1922. It was designed by Erich Mendelsohn, one of the most outstanding architects of the twentieth centuries, whose works are admired all over the world.
The monumental and austere building of the former City
Theatre located in Gliwice once housed one of the best
institutions of its kind in the Silesian region. The Gliwice
stage was established at the end of the nineteenth
century, and in the interwar period it was part of the
Upper Silesian Theatre of Three Cities. The building was
partially burned in 1945, when the Soviet soldiers set fire
to it. In the 1990s century, the theater building, which is
now called “Ruins”, was revitalized, and has become a
place of many cultural events.
For centuries, the municipal authorities of Gliwice operated in the town hall, which still stands in the middle of the market square. Currently, the main seat of the magistrate is the imposing edifice of the former "Haus Oberschlesien" (meaning "House of Upper Silesia"). It is located in Zwycięstwa Street, which connects the Old Town with the train station. This Eclectic building was constructed the 1920s. Horst Bienek made it famous in one of his novels.
The present building of the garrison church of Saint Barbara
in Gliwice was founded by the local Protestant community
in the mid-nineteenth century. Previously, since 1482, a
wooden Catholic church had stood in its place. From 1809
to 1860 it was shared with the Evangelical Church. The
church is an impressive, brick basilica, referring in style to
the Italian art of the Trecento and the Quattrocento. It was
designed by Friedrich August Stüler, a prominent architect.
Ulica Zwycięstwa – Victory Street in Gliwice was laid out
in the years 1875-1880. From that time on, until 1945, it
was called the Wilhelmstrasse. In the course of time, it
became an elegant street, leading from the Market
Square to the train station. There are many grand
houses, representing different, historicizing styles and
Modernist monuments, with the so-called Seidenhaus
Weichmann, a department store, designed by Erich
“Villa Caro” is located in the center of Gliwice, at Dolnych
Wałów Street. It was built in the 1880s in the style in
which the then richest entrepreneurs in Gliwice used to
erect their residences. The villa was built for Oscar Caro,
who managed such family businesses as the Hermina
steel plant in Łabędy and an iron industry company. The
interior of the villa has preserved the spectacular décor
of the era. Today, the building is the seat of the Gliwice
Museum. It also houses the "Reading Room of Art",
which is a gallery of contemporary art. One can see here
interesting exhibitions and participate in educational and
Coal mine shaft Maciej is a complex of buildings of the former coal mine "Concordia", which is situated in the district...
Coal mine shaft Maciej is a complex of buildings of the former coal mine "Concordia", which is situated in the district of Zabrze - Maciejów. The interiors refer to the trends of post-industrial buildings. Here you can try an excellent meal and feel the unique atmosphere of this place.
The Italian word Collin means hill, and the restaurant is located under the hill in Zbrosławice. It is here that a uniqu...
The Italian word Collin means hill, and the restaurant is located under the hill in Zbrosławice. It is here that a unique place has been built over the last 9 years. The owners are restaurateurs from Silesia: Zbigniew and Beata Tucholscy, which is why tradition had to appear here, although the restaurant follows global trends.