Category: Marked tourist route
Łącza - Rudziniec
author: Admin



Rowerowy, Niebieski szlak turystyczny prowadzący z miejscowości Łącza do Rudzińca Gliwickiego. Atrakcjami wartymi zobaczenia przy trasie w Rudzińcu są: drewniany kościół św. Michała Archanioła z XVII wieku z cenną polichromią z 1657 roku, pałac (obecnie szkoła) oraz śluza „Rudziniec” Kanału Gliwickiego.

The main way of travelling
Difficulty level Travel time [min]
bike easy 25,00 [min]
Other possible ways to travel
Difficulty level Estimated travel time [min]
walking easy 110,00 [min]
Detailed route parameters
Total distance [km]
Total uphill distance [km]
Total downhill distance [km]
Total flat distance [km]
Total uphill altitude [m]
Total downhill altitude [m]
Minimum altitude [m.a.s.l.]
Average altitude [m.a.s.l.]
Maximum altitude [m.a.s.l.]
Towns/cities on the road:
Trail length: 6,9
Trail length in the Silesian Voivodeship: 6,9
Districts: gliwicki
Voivodeships: Silesian
Amenities: information plates

See also

The village of Rudziniec, which is also the seat of the commune, is situated in the district of Gliwice. The original name of the village was Rudno Małe. It was mentioned as early as 1305. The development of the area in the nineteenth century was associated with the construction of a steelworks. At the end of the third Silesian Uprising, the insurgent headquarters was set up in the Rudziniec palace, which, apart from the wooden church, is the main monument in the village. It was built in the neo-Classicist style in the midnineteenth century. The building now houses several institutions.
The Gliwicki Canal connects Gliwice with the Oder river. It was built in the 1930s and opened in 1941. It was then the most modern waterway in Europe. Lovers of industrial monuments may admire, among others, impressive sluices with original machinery and equipment. The most interesting sluice is located in Rudziniec. It has two twin chambers, which can be closed with a movable gate.
The church of Saint Michael the Archangel in Rudziniec belongs to the group of historic wooden churches of the district of Gliwice It is now a parish church in the deanery of Ujazd of the Diocese of Opole. The shrine is known for the interior polychromy, whose composition refers to an idea of the Trinity, scenes from the life of Christ, the saints, and ornaments. It is alsoone of the monuments on the Wooden Architecture Trail of the Silesia province.
Next to the palace of the Ballestrems in Pławniowice there is a slightly smaller building erected at the same time. It features Eclectic architecture with strong neoGothic elements. This is called “Kavalier Haus”, which means “Bachelor's House”. It built was by Franz Ballestrem for his son, Leon. This building, which served as his temporary lodgings, later became a luxurious residence, designed for guests coming to Pławniowice.
The palace and park in Pławniowice, in the district of Gliwice, in the commune of Rudziniec, now serve as part of the Centre for Education and Formation of Gliwice Diocese. It is easy to get there, because the center lies at the intersection of the A4 motorway and the national road No 40, between Gliwice and Strzelce Opolskie. The main part of the complex is a palace of the Ballestrem family, which was built in the years 1882-1885. It is surrounded by a small, historic park. In this park there are many interesting and exotic species of trees.
See more