There are a number of wooden houses from
the 18th to 20th centuries in various places of
Brenna. The traditional, typical residential
buildings of this area are log cabins on stone
foundations. The oldest were once
The Catholic parish of Saint John the Baptist in
Brenna now covers most of the tourist resort.
Previously, this area belonged to the parish in
Grodziec, then - since the seventeenth
century - to the parish in Górki Wielkie.
Interestingly, the policy pursued by the
Austrian Emperor Joseph II contributed to the
creation of a separate parish in Brenna in
1784. The church of Saint John the Baptist
was built shortly thereafter and was
consecrated in 1796.
Brenna as a mountain resort became popular in the
interwar years of the twentieth century. The village was
visited by tourists mainly from Silesia. In 1924, Bruno
Konczakowski from Cieszyn built a hunting manor in the
valley of the Głębiec brook. The manor made of alpine
stone pine and larch was built in a Tyrolean style. The
interior reflects the owner’s hunting interests. The
Chapel of St. Hubert stands in the vicinity of the manor.
n the second half of the seventeenth century,
the followers of Lutheranism in Cieszyn Silesia
suffered severe persecution by the arch
Catholic Habsburgs. After expelling them by
force from all the churches in the principality,
they had to pray in secret. So-called forest
churches come from that time. These were
the remote places in the mountains, where
Protestants met in secret devotions. One of
them is a huge stone preserved to this day on
top of Równica near Ustroń.