Ligocka Kuźnia, which is a district of Rybnik, has an interesting monument. It is a wooden church of Saint Lawrence. The shrine was built in 1717 in nearby Boguszowice, and moved to Ligocka Kuźnia in the 70s of the last century. The building, erected on a Greek cross plan, houses the precious painting depicting the
martyrdom of Saint Lawrence. The church lies on the Wooden Architecture Trail of the Silesia province.
In Chwałowice, a southern District of Rybnik, there is a housing estate built in the years 1910-1916 for the families of miners working in the coal mine "Donnersmarckgrube" (since 1945 the Coal Mine "Chwałowice"). The housing estate in 1 Maja Street in Chwałowice consists of a typical, two-storey, multi-family brick houses with outbuildings.
Chwałowice is now a district of Rybnik, lying
south of the center. It was the former seat of
the commune. Apart from the coal mine
"Chwałowice" and the housing estate designed
for workers of the heavy industry, the shrine of
St Thérèse of the Child Jesus is one of the landmarks of the city.
The present church of this saint was built in the
20s of the last century. The sanctuary was
established by the Archbishop of Katowice,
Damian Zimoń in 2005.
The Church of Corpus Christi in Rybnik Jankowice was built as the foundation of Count Ferdinand Oppersdorf in 1675. It is one of the two wooden churches in Silesia built on a Greek cross plan. The shrine is a typical log cabin construction. The roofs are covered with shingles. The neo-Baroque interior houses a few eighteenth-century monuments, such as the painting of the Ascension and a Baroque font.
One of the most important industrial plants operating in Rybnik and its surrounding area was the Steel Mill “Silesia”. It was built as early as the middle of the 18th century in Paruszowiec, now a district of Rybnik, and was closed at the end of the twentieth century. At the turn of the 19th and 20th centuries, during the heyday of the plant, a housing estate for workers was established nearby, of which a few three-storey multi-family brick houses known as familoks have been preserved to the present-day.