Łubowice in the commune of Rudnik is a village, which
was once a family estate of the Eichendorffs. Joseph von
Eichendorff (1788-1857), a world famous Romantic poet,
was born here. The museum dedicated to his memory is
housed in a former school. In the village we can see a few
relics of the past associated with the poet, including the
ruins of the palace, where he was born. At the local
cemetery, we can find the grave of the poet's parents, as
well as an obelisk dedicated to Eichendorff, on which
there is a relief with his likeness.
" Do you remember the garden
And the palace among the trees
Do you remember waiting impatiently
For the spring to come around? "
So did Joseph von Eichendorff, one of the greatest poets of
German Romanticism ask in the poem "My brother," The o
palace in Łubowice is gone, only the ruins remain? But his
poetry extols the melancholy of Silesia, with rustling
groves and streams.
It is worthwhile to stroll along the Oder in the mysterious
park and discover the forgotten splendor of the neoGothic palace.
The ferry across the Oder River which operates between Grzegorzowice (on the left bank) and Ciechowice (on the right) is the only such attraction in the Silesian section of the second longest Polish river. The ferry crossing is part of the voivodeship road 421. Interestingly, at the site of the ferry there was a narrow bridge from the second half of the nineteenth century, but it was blown up in 1945, and now we can see only its abutments on the both sides of the river.
The watermill in Brzeźnica, a village in the district of
Racibórz, is a monument whose history dates back to the
eighteenth century. Its current building was erected in
the interwar period. The mill is still operating. It was
renovated at the beginning of the twenty-first century. It
is supplied with water from a nearby stream. This place is
associated with unrequited love of the famous romantic
poet Eichendorff, who fell in love with the daughter of
the local miller.
The palace of Czerwięcice lies on a hill, in a picturesque setting. It is one of those Silesian monuments, which are currently waiting to recover its former glory. Although the building is dilapidated today, it still draws attention thanks to its nice shape. It was erected at the initiative of Victor von Wrochem in 1892. The residence, which features the Neo-Renaissance style, is now a private property and, hopefully, will eventually be restored.