Dzimierz is a village which lies in the southern part of Silesia, in
the district of Rybnik, roughly halfway between Kuźnia Raciborska
and Rydułtowy. The most interesting monument here is a modest
chateau from the second half of the nineteenth century. A few
decades earlier, the property had belonged to the Mendelssohn
family. In 1823, Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy one of the most
famous composers of Romantic period, who was related to the
owners, visited the place.
The ferry across the Oder River which operates between Grzegorzowice (on the left bank) and Ciechowice (on the right) is the only such attraction in the Silesian section of the second longest Polish river. The ferry crossing is part of the voivodeship road 421. Interestingly, at the site of the ferry there was a narrow bridge from the second half of the nineteenth century, but it was blown up in 1945, and now we can see only its abutments on the both sides of the river.
" Do you remember the garden
And the palace among the trees
Do you remember waiting impatiently
For the spring to come around? "
So did Joseph von Eichendorff, one of the greatest poets of
German Romanticism ask in the poem "My brother," The o
palace in Łubowice is gone, only the ruins remain? But his
poetry extols the melancholy of Silesia, with rustling
groves and streams.
It is worthwhile to stroll along the Oder in the mysterious
park and discover the forgotten splendor of the neoGothic palace.
Łubowice in the commune of Rudnik is a village, which
was once a family estate of the Eichendorffs. Joseph von
Eichendorff (1788-1857), a world famous Romantic poet,
was born here. The museum dedicated to his memory is
housed in a former school. In the village we can see a few
relics of the past associated with the poet, including the
ruins of the palace, where he was born. At the local
cemetery, we can find the grave of the poet's parents, as
well as an obelisk dedicated to Eichendorff, on which
there is a relief with his likeness.
Lyski is a communal village located in the south of the Silesian voivodeship. In this old village it is worthwhile to see, among others, an Eclectic Church of Saint Margaret, as well as buildings of the old House of Paupers of Saint Joseph, which was founded by Józef Połednik in the middle of the nineteenth century. In the village cemetery an interesting funerary chapel of the Połednik family has been preserved.