Pogrzebień is a village in the commune of
Kornowac. It was already mentioned in the
thirteenth century as one of the oldest
villages of the land of Racibórz. Its location
on the hills above the valley of the Oder river
makes it an interesting vantage point. The
pride of the village is a neo-Renaissance
mansion. Currently, it houses the Salesian
convent with a memory chamber dedicated
to Laura Meozzi and the Salesian Youth
Oratory, which together with the adjacent
sports facilities serves children and young
people from the region.
The present church of John the Baptist is a neo-Gothic building dated from the years 1856-1866.
It is located at Morawska Street in Racibórz Ostróg. However, the history of the church on
this site is older, as there were successive
wooden churches in this place from the
thirteenth century on. The church, which
sustained damage during the flood in 1997, is
known for its venerated, highly suggestive
painted image of Christ the Suffering.
Pogrzebień is a village in district of Raciborz, in
the commune of Kornowac. This picturesque
lies on the hills above the valley of the Oder
river. It is a good vantage point of the
surrounding area of the post-Cistercian ponds,
as well as on the Moravian-Silesian Beskids,
which are part of the Carpathian Mountains,
and on the ranges of the Opava and Jeseníky
mountains belonging to the Sudeten. Apart
from the palace of the Baildons (formerly
belonging to the Larischs, who were the
parents-in-law of Joseph von Eichendorff) it is
worthwhile to see the church of Saint
Bartholomew. Laura Meozzi, a Salesian nun,
who was highly deserved for working with
children is buried here.
The parish of the Assumption of the Blessed
Virgin Mary is one of the oldest parishes in
Racibórz. It now comprises the city center.
According to tradition, the sanctuary itself,
located in the southern corner of the market
square, dates back to the twelfth century, but
scholars hold the opinions that it was erected a
little later. In the course of time, the Gothic
building underwent reconstructions. In particular,
the church suffered during the war, but after the
war, the church was thoroughly renovated.
The church of Saint James is located at the
Racibórz market square. It is a post-Dominican
church, which was part of the former
monastery, dating from the fifteenth century.
Dominicans were brought to Raciborz at the end
of the first half of the thirteenth century. The
church building has a rather checkered history.
It was burned down in fires, and as a result, was
rebuilt many times. The Dominican monastery
standing next to the church was demolished
after the dissolution of the monasteries in
Prussia in 1810.