The Catholic parish of Saint John the Baptist in
Brenna now covers most of the tourist resort.
Previously, this area belonged to the parish in
Grodziec, then - since the seventeenth
century - to the parish in Górki Wielkie.
Interestingly, the policy pursued by the
Austrian Emperor Joseph II contributed to the
creation of a separate parish in Brenna in
1784. The church of Saint John the Baptist
was built shortly thereafter and was
consecrated in 1796.
There are a number of wooden houses from
the 18th to 20th centuries in various places of
Brenna. The traditional, typical residential
buildings of this area are log cabins on stone
foundations. The oldest were once
The Shrine of Our Lady of Szczyrk is situated
at an altitude of 670 meters above sea level ,
in the picturesque hills belonging to the massif
of Klimczok. The tradition relates that at the
end of the nineteenth century apparitions of
Mother of God were to happen here. The
construction of the church started in 1912. It
was completed after the First World War. In
addition to the sanctuary, which is a
pilgrimage destination, there is a blue hiking
trail which runs from Szczyrk to Klimczok.
Brenna as a mountain resort became popular in the
interwar years of the twentieth century. The village was
visited by tourists mainly from Silesia. In 1924, Bruno
Konczakowski from Cieszyn built a hunting manor in the
valley of the Głębiec brook. The manor made of alpine
stone pine and larch was built in a Tyrolean style. The
interior reflects the owner’s hunting interests. The
Chapel of St. Hubert stands in the vicinity of the manor.