The church of the Holy Cross in Żywiec, also called the church of the Three Crosses is located in the part of town called Rudze. It dates from the late fourteenth century. It was originally built in the Gothic style, but then over the centuries it changed its appearance. According to tradition, the church was built by the settlers, who had been brought to the region by the Thurzon family to search for iron ore on the hills around the city.
The Komorowski Castle in Żywiec, also called the Old
Castle is a construction from the second half of the
fifteenth century, which was founded on the ruins of an
earlier stronghold, destroyed during the campaign of King
Casimir Jagiellon’s troops. The castle, which was expanded
several times, has preserved, among others, its
Renaissance arcaded courtyard to our times. Currently,
the Old Castle is home to the City Museum of Żywiec.
There is, among others, an ethnographic exhibition, which
is a complement of the Wooden Architecture Trail.
The palace of the Habsburgs in Żywiec, also called the New Castle, now houses the Forestry and Lumber Technology School Complex. The neo-Classicist palace was built at the initiative of Archduke Albrecht Friedrich Rudolf von Habsburg in the years 1885 to 1895. His son, Karol Stefan, who decided to settle here permanently, initiated the Żywiec line of the Habsburgs. The Żywiec Habsburgs went down very positively in Polish history - also fighting the white and red flag.
The church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary in
Żywiec is the oldest church built in the city. It was
erected in the second half of the fifteenth century. Originally, it was
a Gothic building. After several alterations in the centuries that
followed some elements of Renaissance and Baroque were added.
From the outside it attracts attention with its elegant
loggia tower. Inside the church, the most valuable monument is
considered to be a Gothic relief presenting the Dormition of the Mother of
God. The Church is the co-cathedral of the Diocese of
The Park of Miniatures in Żywiec is another attraction of this
type in Silesia, a theme park featuring selected aspects of
the life and work of the former owners of Żywiec (The
Komorowskis, the Wielopolskis and the Habsburgs) from the
mid-fifteenth century to the Second World War. Part of the
exhibition space is housed in the rooms of the restored New
Palace, where there are 23 miniature buildings in the palace
KARCZMA ŻYWIECKA zlokalizowana jest w samym centrum miasta. To miejsce niezwykłe, o szczególnej atmosferze. Zadowoli smakoszy o wyrafinowanych gustach kulinarnych oraz wielbicieli tradycyjnego góralskiego klimatu.