The Lutheran parish in Wodzisław Śląski is located in the former Franciscan church of the Holy Trinity. This is a fifteenth-century building, which was later rebuilt. It became part of the Franciscan monastery erected here in the seventeenth century. The monastery was dissolved in 1810. The entire complex is now one of the most precious of its kind in the region. While the church building itself serves as an Evangelical church today, the former monastery buildings house the District Courthouse.
The old monastery in Wodzisław Śląski (now houses
the District Court) stands next to the church. Today, it is
used by the Evangelical parish. However, these are the
traces of the activity of the Franciscan Minorities. They
were brought to Wodzisław in 1257, i.e. during the
foundation of the town. Because its exact date of the foundation is not
known, it is traditionally linked to the year 1257, which is the
beginning of their activities in Wodzisław.
In addition to individual and interesting historic buildings
in Wodzislaw Śląski, the urban layout of the town itself is
worthy of note. It is difficult to determine the exact date
of the foundation of Wodzislaw Śląski, as it has not been
preserved in any documents, even though it took place
probably between 1246 and 1257. The central part of
the urban layout of Wodzisław is of course the market
square, which is actually one of the largest squares in
One of the landmarks of Wodzisław Śląski is the palace
built by the Dietrichstein family. It was erected between 1742
and 1745. It is probably the first Classicist building on
Polish soil. Today, apart from the civil registry, it houses the
Municipal Museum, whose collections present primarily
the history of Wodzisław and the region from prehistoric
times to the present day.
The church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary
in Wodzisław is one of the landmarks of the town. The
church was built in the Gothic style, as the third
successive building on the same site. The history of the
church and parish in Wodzisław testifies to the
extraordinary determination and generosity of the
faithful who were able to quickly rebuild it quickly after
the war. Currently, the church is one of the main symbols
of the town and is a landmark visible from afar.