Interestingly, the development of the presently defunct spa in Jastrzębie is associated with the drilling accompanied the search for coal. In 1859, during the drilling conducted on the initiative of Emil von Schlieben, owner of Jastrzębie Dolne, a spring of iodine-bromine brine discovered. A year later Count Felix von Königsdorff bought the village and started building care and health facilities. He changed its name to Bad Königsdorff-Jastrzemb.
The Church of the Sacred Heart is located in within the area of the former spa of Jastrzębie-Zdrój. The church was built by adapting the east wing of the "Health Center of Mary". The parish itself of the Sacred Heart of Jesus was founded in 1951. The subsequent history of the efforts to expand the church shows the plight of the faithful and the Church in the People’s Republic of Poland.
The wooden Church of Saints Barbara and Joseph in Jastrzębie-Zdrój was originally located in Jedłownik, a district of Wodzisław Śląski. The first mention of the church appeared in 1447, but it is believed that it could have been built in 1345 as it is suggested by the Latin date carved on one of the beams. The relocation of the church, which took place in the 70s of the twentieth century, was the culmination of a several year long struggle of the local residents for their own place of worship. The church is located on the Wooden Architecture Trail of the Silesia province.
The Gallery of the History of Jastrzębie Zdrój is the best place to learn about the history of this young city. The Gallery was set up in 2002, but since 2010, it has been housed in the former Baths II, a more appropriate place. Here, you can see permanent and temporary exhibitions. The exhibitions include the local history of coal mining and the presentation of the interior of a traditional Silesian kitchen.
The first mention of the church of Saint Catherine of Alexandria comes from the inspection report made in 1652. The church was rebuilt in 1825, after a fire in 1811, as a late-Baroque building with some neo-Classicist elements. Inside the church, which is the work of the founders - the Strachwitz family - there is, among others, a triangular image of the Eye of Divine Providence from the late eighteenth century, a pulpit, a baptismal font, an image of St Catherine and a brick choir supported by arches. In 2012, the Archbishop of Katowice raised the church to the rank of the Sanctuary of Divine Providence.
Stylish decorated interiors and unique atmosphere of the restaurant makes it a perfect place for a business lunch, family dinner or a meeting with friends over a glass of great wine. In this restaurant you can also organize an unforgettable wedding reception.