Main service - The Silesia Metropolis with outskirts
Update date: 7 January 2014

The Silesia Metropolis with outskirts

The Silesia Metropolis consists of 14 cities of Silesia and Zagłębie: Bytom, Chorzów, Dąbrowa Górnicza, Gliwice, Jaworzno, Katowice, Mysłowice, Piekary Śląskie, Ruda Śląska, Siemianowice Śląskie, Sosnowiec, Świętochłowice, Tychy and Zabrze ( It is the largest metropolitan area in Poland, which sucessfully disproves the stereotype of a big city devoid of green areas. There is no other urban center in Poland whose area would be in a quarter comprised of forests and parks, including Silesian Park, which is larger than New York's Central Park. More than 600 hectares of greenery hides countless attractions. Silesian Amusement Park, Silesian Zoological Garden, Planetarium, heritage park, narrow gauge railway and Elka cable car give endless possibilities for leisure time spending.

Walking around the cities of Silesian Metropolis is very enjoyable, too. Admirers of art and architecure will be delighted to visit beautiful castles, palaces and other historical buildings, which are often still holding the original furnishings dating back centuries. Amateurs of outdoor activities will find here areas of water with entire infrastructure, and extensive green areas to traverse on foot or by bike. And if that is not enough, you can see a true desert, one of the greatest natural curiosities in this part of Europe: Błędowska Desert, which geographically belongs to Lesser Poland, but a part of it lying in Dąbrowa Górnicza fits within the Metropolis.


Learn more at  

Learn about routes