Jaworzynka is a village located literally "beyond the mountains, beyond the forests," in a picturesque area along the Polish, Slovakian and Czech border of the Silesian Beskids. Undoubtedly, one of the places worth visiting is a museum displaying regional exhibits. After moving a few other objects, it became a small open-air museum.
The Church of the Good Shepherd is the oldest shrine in Istebna. The brick building was built in the years 1792-1794. It replaced a wooden church erected in the early eighteenth century. From outside, the church looks simple, referring to the architectural style of the late Baroque. The interior, on the other hand, has a distinctive design - a work of the Istebna artists, including Jan Wałach and the Konarzewski family.
The Trijunction is a geographical point at which the borders of Poland, the Czech Republic and Slovakia meet in Jaworzynka, a village in the southern part of the Silesian Beskids. In a short distance, in the three countries, there are three villages, which all can be visited in less than 3 hours. An attractive, picturesque region is a popular place for pleasant walks and longer hikes, during which the visitor has an opportunity to explore the border areas of the three countries, or even taste Polish, Czech and Slovak beer.
Jerzy Kukuczka was the most prominent Polish Himalayan climber, the second person, who won all the eight-thousanders, which is the Crown of the Himalayas. He perished while climbing Mount Lhotse. Although the climber was born and lived in Katowice, his family was associated with Istebna in the Silesian Beskid. In this village, in a hamlet called Wilcze, you will find his home, which houses the Memorial Room dedicated to him. We can see photographs, climbing equipment, skis and sports trophies there.
The Chapel of Our Lady Queen of the Polish Crown located on Bucznik in Istebna was built in 1922. Its founder was Ludwik Konarzewski Senior - a sculptor and painter, the first of the family of artists, who have been associated with Istebna for a hundred years. The chapel was built as a votive offering for the safe return from exile to Siberia. The building was erected as a log cabin construction, covered with shingles. Inside the chapel, there are works of the artist, including a wooden altar with an image of the Virgin Mary.