Odrzańska Droga Wodna to rzeczna „autostrada”, jedna z niewielu w całym kraju, której istotną część stanowi Kanał Gliwicki. Wraz z sześcioma śluzami umożliwiającymi żeglugę od lat 30-tych minionego wieku łączy Górny Śląsk z Odrą. Kanał Gliwicki zlokalizowany w dolinie rzeki Kłodnicy na odcinku od Gliwic do Kędzierzyna Koźla, na terenie województw śląskiego i opolskiego zastąpił działający od początku XIX wieku Kanał Kłodnicki.
The village of Rudziniec, which is also the
seat of the commune, is situated in the
district of Gliwice. The original name of the
village was Rudno Małe. It was mentioned as
early as 1305. The development of the area in
the nineteenth century was associated with
the construction of a steelworks. At the end of
the third Silesian Uprising, the insurgent
headquarters was set up in the Rudziniec
palace, which, apart from the wooden church,
is the main monument in the village. It was
built in the neo-Classicist style in the midnineteenth century. The building now houses
The Gliwicki Canal connects Gliwice with the Oder river. It was built in the 1930s and opened in 1941. It was then the most modern waterway in Europe. Lovers of industrial monuments may admire, among others, impressive sluices with original machinery and equipment. The most interesting sluice is located in Rudziniec. It has two twin chambers, which can be closed with a movable gate.
The church of Saint Michael the Archangel in Rudziniec belongs to the group of historic wooden churches of the district of Gliwice It is now a parish church in the deanery of Ujazd of the Diocese of Opole. The shrine is known for the interior polychromy, whose composition refers to an idea of the Trinity, scenes from the life of Christ, the saints, and ornaments. It is alsoone of the monuments on the Wooden Architecture Trail of the Silesia province.
In the village of Poniszowice, in the district of Gliwice, there is one of the monuments of the Wooden Architecture Trail of the Silesia province. It is the church of Saint of John the Baptist and Our Lady of Częstochowa. The history of the parish is quite long, and according to written sources, goes back to the twelfth century. The present church is the third turn on this site. It was founded at the end of the fifteenth century, and was rebuilt later and underwent minor renovations. Next to the shrine, there is a free-standing bell tower from the sixteenth century.