Category: Marked tourist route


author: Admin


The main way of travelling
Difficulty level Travel time [min]
bike easy 110,00 [min]
Detailed route parameters
Total distance [km]
Total uphill distance [km]
Total downhill distance [km]
Total flat distance [km]
Total uphill altitude [m]
Total downhill altitude [m]
Minimum altitude [m.a.s.l.]
Average altitude [m.a.s.l.]
Maximum altitude [m.a.s.l.]
Trail length: 28,9
Trail length in the Silesian Voivodeship: 28,9

Nie jesteś zalogowany. Aby skorzystać z planera podróży musisz się zalogować.

Przejdź do strony logowania.

See also
In addition to many individual, historical buildings of the city, the urban layout of Cieszyn has entered in the register of monuments. The historic layout was formed over the centuries, from the early Middle Ages until the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Its main elements consist of a market square and a square called the Old Market. The most valuable building area representing different architectural styles is located around the above and some other squares (Dominican, Theatre, and Józef Londzina).
The history of the Church of the Holy Cross in Cieszyn, which is located at the intersection of Szersznika and Szeroka Streets, is connected with the arrival of the Jesuit Order in the city, in 1670. The Jesuits were given four houses and a chapel. The chapel was converted into a church in 1707. In 1773, the Jesuits were expelled from the Austrian empire. Currently, the church belongs to the Franciscans, who offer ministry to prisoners and the sick. They also look after the homeless
Saint Mary Magdalene’s Church in Cieszyn is a Gothic church. It was built in the thirteenth century and later rebuilt. At a time, the church belonged to the Dominicans, and then, its patroness was the Blessed Virgin Mary. During the Reformation, in the years 1544-1611, it was taken over by the Evangelicals, but in 1611, it was returned to the Catholics. From that time on, it was again in the hands of the Dominicans, who, however, left the city in 1789. It then became a parish church.
The Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Cieszyn, located on Londzina Square, is a building dating from the years 1697-1718. It was later rebuilt. The predominantly Baroque look of the church was changed by the erection of neo-Classical façade in the late nineteenth century. The history of the church is associated with the nearby monastery of the Brothers Hospitallers of Saint John of God. These monks are known primarily for looking after the sick, running pharmacies and herbal medicine.
The palace of the Counts of Larisch in Cieszyn was erected after the big fire of the city in 1789. The Larisches had owned, for over three decades, a house situated at the then Konwiktowa Street, which in the course of time, it was not enough for them. The new residence was built on the initiative of Count Johann Joseph Anton von Mönnich Larisch. He held numerous positions in the Grand Duchy of Cieszyn, as well as in the court of Vienna. Today, the palace is home to the Museum of Cieszyn Silesia.
See more