The shelter in Wawok, which is a district of
Rybnik, is part of the fortifications built by the
Poles in 1939, in the last months before the
Second World War. Next to it, there are two
other shelters from that time. None of them
was completed before the outbreak of the
war, but all had their part in the defense
campaign. In 2005-2007, the forgotten
shelter was renovated by a group of the
enthusiasts and it is occasionally open to the
Stodoły is the smallest district of Rybnik, located
in the north-western part of the city on the Rybnik
Water Reservoir. Its name might just come from
barns (“stodoły” means “barns” in English), which
were typical for the former rural settlement, or the
"hundred holes", meaning a large number of pits
associated with the mining of iron ore. The most
important monument here is a Cistercian mansion,
built in the Baroque style in 1736.
Wielopole is a district of Rybnik with a population of about 1800 inhabitants. It lies just north of the city center. In Wielopole, one can find a sixteenth-century church of Saint Catherine and the Virgin of the Rosary. In this shrine, which was moved here from village of Gierałtowice, the so-called stenciled polychromy was discovered on the ceiling during renovation work. The church, which is the oldest wooden monument of the Rybnik region, is located on the Wooden Architecture Trail of the Silesia province.
Kalwaria Golejowska - stacje drogi krzyżowej usytuowane przy ul. Wieżowej w Rybniku-Golejowie od skrzyżowania z ul. Książenicką poprzez zbocze góry Grzybówka aż na sam jej szczyt (291 m n.p.m.). Jedna z krajoznawczych osobliwości Rybnika.
The church of the Assumption of the Blessed
Virgin Mary is now the oldest church in Rybnik.
The shrine is dated to the, the fifteenth century.
Originally, the church was dedicated Our Lady
of Sorrows. The only remaining part of this
church is a presbytery, which was converted
into a mortuary chapel, while the rest was
demolished in the late eighteenth century. At
that time, a new church dedicated to the same
patron saint was erected. Currently, the old
sanctuary is used as a university church.