The forester’s lodge in Złatna was built in 1876 as one of a number of the facilities created by the Management of the Żywiec Estates of the Habsburgs. In the nearby Beskid mountains they managed a planned forest economy. The building was already designed in 1853 by Karol Pietschka, court architect of the archdukes. The forester’s lodge stands on a stone foundation. It is a wooden, log cabin construction. There is a porch with Swiss-type ornamentation running around the whole length of the porch.
The palace in Rajcza stands in the center of
this Beskid village. It is true that Anastazy
Siemioński erected the first palace in the first
half of the nineteenth century, but it owes its
present shape to the reconstruction made by
its new owners, the Lubomirskis, in the late
nineteenth century. It was then given the
Neo-Renaissance form. The palace
surrounded by a large, historic park with
many monumental trees.
A tall church tower dominates the landscape
of Rajcza lying in the Soła river valley spread
Rajcza Sola. The church of Saints Lawrence
and Casimir the King was built in the neo-Romanesque and Gothic styles in 1890. It
replaced a smaller wooden church, erected in
the late seventeenth century. Inside, one can
find the image of Our Lady of Casimir.
Because of the benevolent image of the
Virgin, the church was raised to the rank of
Although military operations did not take place in the Silesian and Żywiec Beskids, there are cemeteries, located in the mountain villages and towns, of soldiers killed in action or those who died in hospitals. One of the largest burial sites is a military sector in the graveyard in Rajcza. The soldiers who died in a field military hospital organized in the local palace of the Habsburgs are buried here.
Soblówka lies in the Beskids, in the commune of
Ujsoły. The village, situated in the valley of the
Cicha brook, at the foot of the massifs of
Rycerzowa and Muńcuł, is one of the most
picturesque places of the Beskids and the starting
point of several hiking trails. The church of the
Immaculate Heart of the Blessed Virgin Mary was
erected at the turn of the 40 - and 50s of the
twentieth century. It is located on the Wooden