Shortly after the outbreak of WW1, the Polish Jura areas became the scene of fierce fighting between the three armies of Germany and Austro-Hungary and Russia. Particularly bloody battles took place in November 1914. Thousands of the killed soldiers were then buried on numerous war cemeteries. One of them can be found in Kromołów, a district of Zawiercie, nearly 130 soldiers are buried.
For centuries, Kromołów was a small town, and most
recently it has become one of the districts of Zawiercie.
Among a few monuments, there is a Jewish cemetery at
Piaskowa Street. The cemetery was established around
the mid-eighteenth century. To date, nearly 1,000 tombs
and a mortuary have been preserved within an area of
about 2.2 hectares. The graves are in the shape of typical
tombstones with inscriptions in Hebrew, Yiddish and
The mansion called the Szymanski’s palace is an impressive villa of the director of the Joint-Stock Zawiercie Society (TAZ). It was built in the late nineteenth and early twentieth century. The building was an integral part of the workers’ housing estate belonging to the Society. The villa was designed by architect Warsaw, Hugo Kuder. In the early 1990s the mansion was registered as monument. Stanislaw Szymanski, the general director of the TAZ, was also a social activist and philanthropist.
The Warta, the third longest river in Polish, has its origin in
Kromołów, a present-day district of Zawiercie. There is a
chapel of Saint John of Nepomuk at the source. It has a
history dating back to the sixteenth century, but the
current patron saint is associated with the events of the
eighteenth century. The cult of the fourteenth-century
saint, who came from Bohemia, quickly spread to the
neighboring countries. As saying goes: where Saint John
of Nepomuk is worshipped, there is Central Europe.
The workers’ housing estate of the Zawiercie Joint-Stock
Company is undoubtedly an interesting
housing complex in Zawiercie. It was built in the late
nineteenth and early twentieth centuries at, the cotton mill founded in 1833. In the second
half of the nineteenth century, it was bought by Adolf and
Bernard Ginsberg, Jews from Berlin. It was the first
planned and well organized multifamily housing
estate, which also had public buildings.