In the village of Łodygowice near Żywiec there is a seventeenth-century church. It is located on the Wooden Architecture Trail of the Silesia province. Originally, it was a chapel, which was enlarged in later centuries. The church was built in a log wall construction, with a shingle roof made of larch wood. The shrine has arcades, which in the past served as shelter for the pilgrims visiting it. It is one of the largest wooden churches in the Polish Beskids.
The palace in Łodygowice, sometimes also called a castle,
is a nicely located monument, which is dated from the
seventeenth century. The residence owes its present
appearance to a nineteenth-century rebuilding. It
deprived the palace of defensive qualities. There are,
however, a number of the traces which remind us of its
earlier function. In the palace park, on the small river
Żylica, we will see remains of the earthen ramparts and a
moat. Currently, the building houses several Institutions
The church of St Mark in Żywiec is a little bit less known monument of the city. This building was erected in the second half
of the nineteenth century on the site of an earlier wooden
church. The most interesting and historic items of the
equipment of that older church were transferred to the National
Museum in Kraków. Inside the church of St Mark we can see a seventeenth-century sculpture, instead.Aside from the church, while visiting this part of this city, it is worth an old cemetery with a neo-Gothic chapel and tombstones of distinguished inhabitants.
The historic chapel and the wooden bell tower in Czernichów is one of the characteristic, sacral monuments of the Beskid landscape. The chapel dates from the eighteenth century. It is made of brick and covered with a roof of shingles. The wooden belfry is a post and beam construction, whose sloping walls are covered with wooden boards. The tower is protected with a shingled roof with a lantern, in which you can see a bell with an interesting history. From the side of the road, over the door, there is some space created for the chapel with a statue of the Virgin Mary.
The Museum of Armed Deed of the land of Żywiec was opened in 2011. It was organized by the Municipal Cultural Centre and the Żywiec Club of the Polish Arms "Lech". A former German air-raid shelter from WW2 was adapted as an exhibition space. The exhibition displays, among others, weapons and equipment of the Polish Army in the years 1914-1945, and memorabilia from the Army operations in the Żywiec area.
KARCZMA ŻYWIECKA zlokalizowana jest w samym centrum miasta. To miejsce niezwykłe, o szczególnej atmosferze. Zadowoli smakoszy o wyrafinowanych gustach kulinarnych oraz wielbicieli tradycyjnego góralskiego klimatu.