Category: Marked tourist route
Międzybrodzie Żywieckie - Żywiec Oczków
author: Admin


Międzybrodzie Żywieckie
Żywiec Oczków

Międzybrodzie Żywieckie - Żywiec Oczków

The main way of travelling
Difficulty level Travel time [min]
walking easy 120,00 [min]
Detailed route parameters
Total distance [km]
Total uphill distance [km]
Total downhill distance [km]
Total flat distance [km]
Total uphill altitude [m]
Total downhill altitude [m]
Minimum altitude [m.a.s.l.]
Average altitude [m.a.s.l.]
Maximum altitude [m.a.s.l.]
Trail length: 8,1
Trail length in the Silesian Voivodeship: 8,1

See also

The historic chapel and the wooden bell tower in Czernichów is one of the characteristic, sacral monuments of the Beskid landscape. The chapel dates from the eighteenth century. It is made of brick and covered with a roof of shingles. The wooden belfry is a post and beam construction, whose sloping walls are covered with wooden boards. The tower is protected with a shingled roof with a lantern, in which you can see a bell with an interesting history. From the side of the road, over the door, there is some space created for the chapel with a statue of the Virgin Mary.
The Porąbka dam on the Soła river looks both impressive and elegant. In the interwar period, when it was constructed, it was considered the height of technological sophistication. Gabriel Narutowicz, who later became President of Poland, worked on the design of the dam. It was built with much effort to prevent catastrophic flooding in the Soła river valley. After the Second World War, a small power plant was built on the dam.
Józef Hulka, born 1926, is one of the most original and versatile Polish folk artists. He is painter, sculptor, builder of Christmas cribs and masks. He writes verse and prose. His works are in numerous national and international collections. The artist was honored with prestigious awards, including the prize named after Oskar Kolberg. His works can be seen in the museum, which is located in his home village of Łękawica.
In the village of Łodygowice near Żywiec there is a seventeenth-century church. It is located on the Wooden Architecture Trail of the Silesia province. Originally, it was a chapel, which was enlarged in later centuries. The church was built in a log wall construction, with a shingle roof made of larch wood. The shrine has arcades, which in the past served as shelter for the pilgrims visiting it. It is one of the largest wooden churches in the Polish Beskids.
The palace in Łodygowice, sometimes also called a castle, is a nicely located monument, which is dated from the seventeenth century. The residence owes its present appearance to a nineteenth-century rebuilding. It deprived the palace of defensive qualities. There are, however, a number of the traces which remind us of its earlier function. In the palace park, on the small river Żylica, we will see remains of the earthen ramparts and a moat. Currently, the building houses several Institutions and associations.
See more


The restaurant was founded in 1997 in Zywiec Kosciuszko Street in 1940 by Catherine and Maciej Meres.
Straconce inn has 200 seats, was built in mountain style, straw-roofed hut, you can book a "table", on some days they play folk bands, has a room for smokers.
See more