The first mention of the church of Saint Catherine of Alexandria comes from the inspection report made in 1652. The church was rebuilt in 1825, after a fire in 1811, as a late-Baroque building with some neo-Classicist elements. Inside the church, which is the work of the founders - the Strachwitz family - there is, among others, a triangular image of the Eye of Divine Providence from the late eighteenth century, a pulpit, a baptismal font, an image of St Catherine and a brick choir supported by arches. In 2012, the Archbishop of Katowice raised the church to the rank of the Sanctuary of Divine Providence.
The Witczak family played an important role in the Jastrzębie spa. They managed it from the end of the nineteenth until the outbreak of the Second World War, which was the “Golden Age” for Jastrzębie Zdrój. The nestor of the family, Mikołaj Witczak, came from Wielkopolska. He died in 1918, in his beloved resort, and was buried in the burial chapel on the parish cemetery, at the Diocesan Shrine of Divine Providence in Jastrzębie Zdrój. Later his wife - Krystyna and his son Józef Antoni Witczak are buried next to his father.
The Gallery of the History of Jastrzębie Zdrój is the best place to learn about the history of this young city. The Gallery was set up in 2002, but since 2010, it has been housed in the former Baths II, a more appropriate place. Here, you can see permanent and temporary exhibitions. The exhibitions include the local history of coal mining and the presentation of the interior of a traditional Silesian kitchen.
The Church of Our Lady Mother of the Church in Jastrzębie, also called the Church on The Hill, was built in the late 70s of the twentieth century. The local parish was founded in 1980. Due to the original, modern architecture, the church is often referred to, with tongue in cheek, as a silo. It is one of the places related to the peaceful struggle, taken by the Polish society, after the memorable Solidarity uprising in 1980.
In front of the Coal Mine "Borynia-Zofiówka" in Jastrzębie Zdrój, we can see a monument, which commemorates the Jastrzębie Agreement of 3 September 1980. The agreement was part of so-called August Agreements concluded between the communist authorities and the citizens. The monument was erected spontaneously and unveiled on the first anniversary of the Agreement. It was designed by Joachim Paruzel, a local miner. A short thereafter, during the martial law, the communists brutally suppressed the strike in the mine.
Restauracja "Stary Zdrój" to jedno z najbardziej niezwykłych miejsc na kulinarnej mapie Jastrzębia. Zwraca uwagę eleganckimi wnętrzami w zabytkowej piwnicy. Menu podawane u nas jest połączeniem kuchni śródziemnomorskiej, oraz tradycyjnej polskiej. "Stary Zdrój" to miejsce wyjątkowe zarówno na uroczystości rodzinne, spotkania biznesowe jak również na intymne spotkanie dla zakochanych.
Stylish decorated interiors and unique atmosphere of the restaurant makes it a perfect place for a business lunch, family dinner or a meeting with friends over a glass of great wine. In this restaurant you can also organize an unforgettable wedding reception.
Pizzeria Papryczka specjalizuje się w produkcji ciasta z oryginalnej włoskiej receptury Oferujemy różnorodne rodzaje pizzy na cienkim lub grubym cieście w zależności od indywidualnych upodobań klienta.