Empire palace in Frysztat (Karwina, Czech Republic) former was a wooden Gothic castle founded by the Piast princes of nearby Cieszyn. Frysztat became the second residence of the dynasty after Cieszyn itself. In 1792 Frysztat was bought by the Count of Larisch-Mönnich. The palace was to remain in their hands until 1945. The Frysztat castle was an example of the pure Empire style. In front of the main building was built an ornamental park. In 1997 the object was renovated and opened to the public. Inside the palace is one of the most marvellous library across the Czech Republic. In the neighborhood is located the old town and parkland area with rare species of trees.
The Church of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross in Kaczyce is an interesting wooden building, originally built in Ruptawa before 1620. It was moved to its current location in the 70s of the twentieth century. Lying in the center of the village, the church is thickly surrounded by trees, and somewhat obscured by the buildings of the nearby houses. It is situated on the Pszczyna loop of the Wooden Architecture Trail of the Silesia province.
The castle in Kończyce Małe, a village on the Polish-Czech border, is sometimes called Cieszyn Wawel Castle. This is due to the arcades in the inner courtyard. This Renaissance building was erected by the members of the Czel family in the sixteenth century. It later belonged to the families of the Pełk and Folwarczny. Today, the castle houses numerous local associations, the Regional Chamber and an elegant hotel and restaurant.
The parish in Zebrzydowice is now part of the deanery of
Strumień of the Bielsko-Żywiec diocese. It was already
mentioned in 1335 in the list of Peter’s pence, although it
is a bit older. The village itself was founded at the end of
the thirteenth and fourteenth centuries. At that time,
two wooden shrines were erected: the Zebrzydowice
church, which soon became a parish church, and the
church in nearby Marklowice, which for a long time was a
The Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Kończyce Małe was built in the first half of the eighteenth century. It was rebuilt and modernized after the war. Although the building lacks any definite style, some elements refer to Baroque and Classicism. Inside the church one can find a beautiful, miraculous image of the Madonna and Child, which is a unique representation of Mary with a dandelion flower in her hand.