The Church of the Good Shepherd is the oldest shrine in Istebna. The brick building was built in the years 1792-1794. It replaced a wooden church erected in the early eighteenth century. From outside, the church looks simple, referring to the architectural style of the late Baroque. The interior, on the other hand, has a distinctive design - a work of the Istebna artists, including Jan Wałach and the Konarzewski family.
The Chapel of Our Lady Queen of the Polish Crown located on Bucznik in Istebna was built in 1922. Its founder was Ludwik Konarzewski Senior - a sculptor and painter, the first of the family of artists, who have been associated with Istebna for a hundred years. The chapel was built as a votive offering for the safe return from exile to Siberia. The building was erected as a log cabin construction, covered with shingles. Inside the chapel, there are works of the artist, including a wooden altar with an image of the Virgin Mary.
Istebna, one of the most popular holiday destinations, has been lucky to host distinguished guests who - attracted by her beauty - remained here for their whole life, enriching local culture. This was the case of Ludwik Konarzewski Sr., a prominent artist, who started his family’s relationships with Istebna. We can learn more about the history and work of this extraordinary family by visiting their home workshop and gallery located on the hill of Bucznik. On the premises, there is a wooden chapel of the Konarzewski family built in 1923 as a votive offering for the return from Siberia.
Do najważniejszych obiektów, tworzących kompleks zabudowy drewnianej, zalicza się zrębowy dom rodziny Wałachów z około 1858 roku oraz drewnianą pracownię z 1922 roku, w której obecnie mieści się muzeum biograficzne artysty - Jana Wałacha.