The today’s church of Saint Nicholas in Lubliniec is a result of many phases of construction and rebuilding that took place in the following centuries. Originally, it was a Gothic building, but in light of the available sources, it is difficult to pinpoint the exact year of its construction. Later, the Baroque building was erected, which used the existing old walls. The successive works on the castle in the seventeenth, eighteenth and nineteenth centuries resulted in depriving the building of its distinctive style features.
The urban layout of the center of modern Lubliniec results from the city rights modeled on the German law granted by the Dukes of Opole. The market square, also called the Conrad Marka Square, and the streets running out of it are, in large part, lined with houses from the nineteenth century. The most valuable monument in the Old Town is the parish church of Saint Nicholas, whose present construction dates from the sixteenth century.
Lubliniec was a favorite town of Saint Edith Stein, Carmelite sister Teresa Benedicta of the Cross. She was born in Wroclaw. Saint Edith Stein came from a Jewish family. She was a well-known philosopher. Lubliniec was her mother's hometown, and Edith would come here to visit her grandparents and relatives. The memory of the Saint is cultivated in the town, where there is a parish Of this Saint, and the museum dedicated to her was opened in 2009. Edith Stein is also the patron of Lubliniec.
The wooden church of Saint Anne in Lubliniec was built on the then outskirts of the town in 1653. Its founder was Andrzej Cellary, landowner of Lubliniec. In the last century, the church building was on the verge of collapse. Therefore, in the years 1996-2004, it was dismantled and reconstructed. The one-nave building was erected in a log wall construction, with a roof covered with shingles. The interior of the church is in the Baroque style.
While in Lubliniec, an old Silesian settlement founded at the end of the thirteenth century, you can see a local castle. The Lubliniec residence was built by the Dukes of Opole and Racibórz, and rebuilt in the seventeenth century in the Baroque style. The castle has an interesting history. King Władysław IV Vasa was, among others, hosted in it, and during the Swedish Deluge, the Jasna Góra image stored here. The castle was devastated during the communist regime, but rebuilt at the turn of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. It now houses a hotel and a conference center.
The Jewish cemetery in Lubliniec located at 11 Listopada Street is a testament to two hundred years of Jewish presence in this Silesian town. The first Jews settled in Lubliniec in the second half of the eighteenth century. Soon, a religious community was established. In 1845, a small was founded where until the Second World War more than 1,100 dead were buried. Among them the grandparents and the older brothers of Edith Stein or Saint Teresa Benedicta of the Cross, were interred here.
Coal mine shaft Maciej is a complex of buildings of the former coal mine "Concordia", which is situated in the district...
Coal mine shaft Maciej is a complex of buildings of the former coal mine "Concordia", which is situated in the district of Zabrze - Maciejów. The interiors refer to the trends of post-industrial buildings. Here you can try an excellent meal and feel the unique atmosphere of this place.