Just before the outbreak of WW2, Tychy was a small Silesian town with roughly 11 thousand inhabitants. Shortly after the war, the Communist authorities made a decision to expand the town, which eventually became a city inhabited by more than 100 thousand people. Thanks to this political decision, today, the city represents a wide spectrum of planning and architectural solutions - from Socialist realism to Postmodernism.
The Church of St Mary Magdalene in Tychy was built in 1780-82. It was the
third successive church in Tychy, but the first one built of brick. The oldest, wooden sacred building must have existed here as early as the sixteenth century. Its
present form results from the rebuilding work carried out at the beginning of
the last century. The late-Baroque church was significantly enlarged, and after
some time a tower with a distinctive
helmet was added.
"The tradition of brewing in Tychy goes back in 1629, which is marked in the beer label - under the crown prince. A modern brewery was built
in this town by Duke Johann Heinrich Hochberg von Pless XI in the second half of the nineteenth century. It was later developed into one of the largest breweries in the Polish lands. The Tychy Brewery presents its history and today’s times .This is a combination of a modern museum with a tour of the modern facility and tasting a recognized brand of beer."
The City Museum in Tychy was established in 2005. As befits the industrial city, it is housed in the historic building of an old drying plant of grain stillage
(spent barley grains) built in 1909 and located in the premises of Prince's Brewery of Tychy. The museum has organized several interesting exhibitions, devoted mainly to Tychy and its environs. This institution is a meeting place for people of culture and education and conducts publishing activities.
The hunting palace in Tychy is one of the
buildings associated with the successive
dynasties of the princes of Pless such as the
Promnitzs, Anhalts, and Hochbergs. It was
built by the former in 1685, and was later
extended by the next family in the second
half of the eighteenth century. The third of
the families, the Hochbergs, founded the
Brewery Park next to it. Today, the palace is
privately owned, and there will be a
conference center and a hotel here.
Muzeum Miniaturowej Sztuki Profesjonalnej Henryk Jan Dominiak collects, archives and displays the works of professional artists from all over the world. The exhibition includes collections of works of art, as well as historical collections of objects. The museum collection comprises of:
1. Paintings, Drawings and Graphics,
2. Sculptures and Ceramics,
3. Historical objects from areas of Ethnography, Phaleristics and Vexillology,
4. White Arm and Uniforms.
W hotelu znajduję się nowoczesna Restauracja SmaQ, która ze względu na swoją lokalizację w centrum miasta, stanowi ideal...
W hotelu znajduję się nowoczesna Restauracja SmaQ, która ze względu na swoją lokalizację w centrum miasta, stanowi idealne miejsce zarówno dla Gości hotelowych, turystów jak i mieszkańców Katowic.
The restaurant sunlight is the hotel’s flagship, available not only for hotel guests. The restaurant, flooded with natur...
The restaurant sunlight is the hotel’s flagship, available not only for hotel guests. The restaurant, flooded with natural light, open space offers room for up to 160 guests. The interiors are full of distinctive colours combined with minimalist forms.
The restaurant it’s not only a place that serves Silesian cuisine. This restaurant is decorated in a typical Silesian style, like homes where decorated here few decades ago. Customers can find here Silesian culture and great regional flavours.