Gliwice belongs to the old city in Silesia, which has retained
its medieval urban layout in the center. We do not know the
exact date of granting city rights to Gliwice, but it was
probably as early as in the thirteenth century. In the
fourteenth century, the city on the Kłodnica river was
surrounded by defensive walls. They protected the market
square with the town hall and the nearby church of All Saints.
The town had a gridiron plan. All these medieval features
have survived to this day almost unchanged.
Gliwice is one of the major Upper Silesian cities, which can boast of the well preserved medieval urban layout. Its centre forms a square marketplace with the centrally located town hall. The first wooden town hall was probably erected as early as the end of the thirteenth century. It was later replaced with a brick one. The present-day nimeteenth-century, Clsssicist town hall stands on its Gothic foundations.
The Piast Castle in Gliwice is one of the landmarks of the
city. Its origin is attributed to Siemowit, the first ruler who
styled himself Duke of Gliwice. He reigned in the first half of
the fourteenth century. The stone and brick stronghold is
situated in the line of the city walls. It currently houses a
branch of the Gliwice Museum. The collections gathered
here present the history of the city and life of its people
from the Middle Ages to the twentieth century.
“Villa Caro” is located in the center of Gliwice, at Dolnych
Wałów Street. It was built in the 1880s in the style in
which the then richest entrepreneurs in Gliwice used to
erect their residences. The villa was built for Oscar Caro,
who managed such family businesses as the Hermina
steel plant in Łabędy and an iron industry company. The
interior of the villa has preserved the spectacular décor
of the era. Today, the building is the seat of the Gliwice
Museum. It also houses the "Reading Room of Art",
which is a gallery of contemporary art. One can see here
interesting exhibitions and participate in educational and
Ulica Zwycięstwa – Victory Street in Gliwice was laid out
in the years 1875-1880. From that time on, until 1945, it
was called the Wilhelmstrasse. In the course of time, it
became an elegant street, leading from the Market
Square to the train station. There are many grand
houses, representing different, historicizing styles and
Modernist monuments, with the so-called Seidenhaus
Weichmann, a department store, designed by Erich
Gliwice was located in the middle of the thirteenth century.
At this time coincided with the establishment of the oldest
parishes in the city, which operates from the fifteenth
century, dedicated to All Saints. The present parish church
was built at the turn of the fifteenth and sixteenth century,
in the Gothic style. Fire destroyed the temple several times,
and after a further restorations not recovered the previous
appearance of the original. The most distinctive feature is a massive tower
open to the public,.
Coal mine shaft Maciej is a complex of buildings of the former coal mine "Concordia", which is situated in the district...
Coal mine shaft Maciej is a complex of buildings of the former coal mine "Concordia", which is situated in the district of Zabrze - Maciejów. The interiors refer to the trends of post-industrial buildings. Here you can try an excellent meal and feel the unique atmosphere of this place.
This restaurant has an elegant and spacious interior with summer patio. It is located in a charming place next to Rybnic...
This restaurant has an elegant and spacious interior with summer patio. It is located in a charming place next to Rybnickie Lake, surrounded by forest and water. Professional staff makes this restaurant a perfect place for family or business meeting.