The housing estate of Giszowiec in Katowice is workers’ colony, which is unique in Europe. It was built in the years 1906-1910 for the workers of the industrial plants – mostly of the mine "Giesche" (later "Wieczorek") owned by the Georg von Giesche's Erben company. The colony was designed by Emil and Georg Zillmann, who implemented the idea of a city-garden. The blocks of apartments and public buildings have been preserved to this day.
The Coal Mine "Wieczorek" in Nikiszowiec, a district of
Katowice is one of the longest operating mine in Upper
Silesia. Coal mining in Janów began in the late eighteenth
century. The origins of the mine "Wieczorek" date back to
the first decades of the nineteenth century. For a long time,
the mine operated under the name "Giesche", and after
WW2, it received its current name. It is worthwhile to see
the shaft "Pulaski", at which we can see an impressive
pithead building designed by the Zillman brothers.
The housing estate of Nikiszowiec together with nearby Giszowiec in Katowice is one of the most interesting examples of the workers’ colonies in Europe from the late nineteenth and early twentieth century. The both settlements designed at the request of the Georg von Giesche’s Erben Company by eminent architects from Berlin - Emil and Georg Zillmann. The construction of Nikiszowiec began in 1908 and ended in 1919. Nine brick blocks public buildings and even a church were built.
Dział Etnologii Miasta mieści się w gmachu dawnej pralni, magla oraz łaźni, stanowiącym integralną część zabytkowego osiedla robotniczego Nikiszowiec w Katowicach. Na ekspozycjach zobaczyć można wnętrza typowego mieszkania górniczego na Nikiszowcu oraz prześledzić cykl prania, maglowania i suszenia stosowany 100 lat temu.
The wooden church, still standing at the highest point Kosciuszko Park in Katowice Brynów, is a building erected in the early sixteenth century and moved to this place from Syrynia, a district of Rybnik in 1938. It is the oldest monument in Katowice. Next to the church, there is a seventeenth-century bell tower, which was moved here along with the shrine. The whole complex is surrounded by a stylish wooden fence with three gates. The church moved here at the initiative of the then mayor Adam Kocur - a future priest The property is located on the Silesian Wooden Architecture Trail of the Silesia province.