In addition to many individual, historical buildings of the
city, the urban layout of Cieszyn has entered in the
register of monuments. The historic layout was formed
over the centuries, from the early Middle Ages until the
late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Its main
elements consist of a market square and a square called
the Old Market. The most valuable building area
representing different architectural styles is located
around the above and some other squares (Dominican,
Theatre, and Józef Londzina).
The history of the Church of the Holy Cross in Cieszyn, which
is located at the intersection of Szersznika and Szeroka
Streets, is connected with the arrival of the Jesuit Order in
the city, in 1670. The Jesuits were given four houses and a
The chapel was converted into a church in 1707. In 1773,
the Jesuits were expelled from the Austrian empire.
Currently, the church belongs to the Franciscans, who offer
ministry to prisoners and the sick. They also look after the
Saint Mary Magdalene’s Church in Cieszyn is a Gothic
church. It was built in the thirteenth century and later
rebuilt. At a time, the church belonged to the Dominicans,
and then, its patroness was the Blessed Virgin Mary. During
the Reformation, in the years 1544-1611, it was taken over
by the Evangelicals, but in 1611, it was returned to the
Catholics. From that time on, it was again in the hands of
the Dominicans, who, however, left the city in 1789. It then
became a parish church.
The Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary
in Cieszyn, located on Londzina Square, is a building
dating from the years 1697-1718. It was later rebuilt. The
predominantly Baroque look of the church was changed
by the erection of neo-Classical façade in the late
nineteenth century. The history of the church is
associated with the nearby monastery of the Brothers
Hospitallers of Saint John of God. These monks are
known primarily for looking after the sick, running
pharmacies and herbal medicine.
The palace of the Counts of Larisch in Cieszyn was erected
after the big fire of the city in 1789. The Larisches had
owned, for over three decades, a house situated at the
then Konwiktowa Street, which in the course of time, it
was not enough for them. The new residence was built on
the initiative of Count Johann Joseph Anton von Mönnich
Larisch. He held numerous positions in the Grand Duchy of
Cieszyn, as well as in the court of Vienna. Today, the palace
is home to the Museum of Cieszyn Silesia.
Kamienica Konczakowskich powoli powstaje z popiołów, jej nowe oblicze wymagało od właścicieli restauracji odważnej decyzji, jaką była zmiana nazwy- stara nazwa (Restauracja Żak) przestała po prostu oddawać klimat miejsca.