The church of the Holy Trinity and and St Florian in Zawiercie Skarżyce is one of the parish churches in Zawiercie. It is a distinctive consrtuction with three chapes in the form of a rotunda, which symbolize the Holy Trinity. In 1999, the church was raised by archbishop Stanisław Nowak, metropolitan bishop of Częstochowa, to the rank of the Sanctuary of Our Lady of Skarżyce.
The ruins of the knight castle "Bąkowiec" from the
fourteenth and fifteenth centuries are located within the
area of the holiday resort "Morsko", near the village of the
same name. Next to the castle there are the two most
important hiking trails of the Polish Jura – the red Trail of
the Eagles' Nests and the blue Trail of the Jurassic
Strongholds. A trip to the ruins of the castle can be
combined with a visit to the nearby Rzędkowice and the
The parish church of Saint James the Apostle in Giebło
is one of the oldest churches in this part of Poland. It is
dated from the twelfth century. The Romanesque
church is an example of the characteristic monuments
erected in the early centuries of the Polish statehood.
The church survived unchanged until the early
twentieth century, when it was rebuilt, but the body, in
large part, has retained its original look.
The beginnings of the parish in Kroczyce date back (according to written documents) to the twelfth century. Before the erection of the present brick church, there were two successive wooden churches here (though their history is not well known). One was destroyed by a fire. The other wooden building was founded by Piotr Firlej in 1427 as a votive foundation for the safe return after the Battle of Grunewald in 1410. The present church comes from the nineteenth century.
The church of Saint Nicolas in today's Kromołów Zawiercie
( it was once a separate town) is the oldest church in the city. It is
located at Jurajska St, which is part of the road from Zawiercie to
Kroczyce. We do not know when exactly the first was built in Kromołów
The church of St Nicholas is considered to be probably the third on this site. Its present-day form comes from
the sixteenth century, when the church was reconstructed.