Although military operations did not take place in the Silesian and Żywiec Beskids, there are cemeteries, located in the mountain villages and towns, of soldiers killed in action or those who died in hospitals. One of the largest burial sites is a military sector in the graveyard in Rajcza. The soldiers who died in a field military hospital organized in the local palace of the Habsburgs are buried here.
A tall church tower dominates the landscape
of Rajcza lying in the Soła river valley spread
Rajcza Sola. The church of Saints Lawrence
and Casimir the King was built in the neo-Romanesque and Gothic styles in 1890. It
replaced a smaller wooden church, erected in
the late seventeenth century. Inside, one can
find the image of Our Lady of Casimir.
Because of the benevolent image of the
Virgin, the church was raised to the rank of
The palace in Rajcza stands in the center of
this Beskid village. It is true that Anastazy
Siemioński erected the first palace in the first
half of the nineteenth century, but it owes its
present shape to the reconstruction made by
its new owners, the Lubomirskis, in the late
nineteenth century. It was then given the
Neo-Renaissance form. The palace
surrounded by a large, historic park with
many monumental trees.
Sól is a charming village in the Słanica river valley, in the very heart of the Żywiec Beskid. In the village, there are a few traditional highland wooden log cottages. However, the most interesting monument is a wooden belfry from 1837, which stands on the main road. It is a post and beam construction covered with shingles. In the middle, there is a turret cast by Leopold Franciszek Stanki from Olomouc in the nineteenth century.