In Panewniki, a south-western district of Katowice, on can find a historic Franciscan monastery, which is visited especially by numerous people at Christmas time, because of the Europe's largest altar Christmas crib. The Basilica of Saint Louis the King and the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary and the monastery buildings were built in the neo-Romanesque style in the early twentieth century. Noteworthy are also the Lourdes Grotto, the Panewniki Calvary and a church graveyard.
Attempts to commemorate the victims of the communist crime of December 16, 1981 were taken immediately after the pacification of the mine, but all the symbols were instantly destroyed by the communist authorities. The monument was unveiled on December 15, 1991. It was designed by Alina and Andrzej Grzybowski. The monument consists of a 33-meter-tall cross and an urn with the soil from the graves of the nine miners. In the Memorial Museum we can see a documentary and an exhibition with a display illustrating the tragic events, accompanied by the sounds of tanks, helicopters and guns, which makes you feel the horror of the pacification.
The wooden church, still standing at the highest point Kosciuszko Park in Katowice Brynów, is a building erected in the early sixteenth century and moved to this place from Syrynia, a district of Rybnik in 1938. It is the oldest monument in Katowice. Next to the church, there is a seventeenth-century bell tower, which was moved here along with the shrine. The whole complex is surrounded by a stylish wooden fence with three gates. The church moved here at the initiative of the then mayor Adam Kocur - a future priest The property is located on the Silesian Wooden Architecture Trail of the Silesia province.
There is a noteworthy bridge in Katowice Podlesie, which links both banks of the Mleczna river. Built in the late nineteenth and early twentieth century, it is the oldest bridge still operating in the region. By the early 90s of the last century, it was still passable, but since that time, due to the threat of devastation by traffic, it has served only pedestrians. The small Mleczna river flowing here begins in the vicinity of the reserve “Ochojec” in Katowice, and it is a tributary of the Gostyń river.
The church of Saints Peter and Paul in Katowice was built in
the late nineteenth and early twentieth century, as the seat
of the second Roman Catholic parish in the city. The
designer of the church was Joseph Ebers, a building advisor to the diocese from Wrocław.
The neo-Gothic church is made of brick, on a Latin cross
plan. Interestingly, in the years 1925-1957, it served as the
cathedral church of the diocese of Katowice