Złatna, a highland village tucked amid the hills of the Żywiec Beskid, attracts tourists primarily with its landscape values. There are, however, some interesting monuments from the past, including, among others, ruins of a glassworks. Traces of a chamber furnace and the main building of the glassworks can be found in the hamlet of Złatna Huta. White and green glass was produced during most of the nineteenth century, when the owners of these lands were first the Wielopolskis and later the Habsburgs.
The forester’s lodge in Złatna was built in 1876 as one of a number of the facilities created by the Management of the Żywiec Estates of the Habsburgs. In the nearby Beskid mountains they managed a planned forest economy. The building was already designed in 1853 by Karol Pietschka, court architect of the archdukes. The forester’s lodge stands on a stone foundation. It is a wooden, log cabin construction. There is a porch with Swiss-type ornamentation running around the whole length of the porch.
Although military operations did not take place in the Silesian and Żywiec Beskids, there are cemeteries, located in the mountain villages and towns, of soldiers killed in action or those who died in hospitals. One of the largest burial sites is a military sector in the graveyard in Rajcza. The soldiers who died in a field military hospital organized in the local palace of the Habsburgs are buried here.
A tall church tower dominates the landscape
of Rajcza lying in the Soła river valley spread
Rajcza Sola. The church of Saints Lawrence
and Casimir the King was built in the neo-Romanesque and Gothic styles in 1890. It
replaced a smaller wooden church, erected in
the late seventeenth century. Inside, one can
find the image of Our Lady of Casimir.
Because of the benevolent image of the
Virgin, the church was raised to the rank of
The palace in Rajcza stands in the center of
this Beskid village. It is true that Anastazy
Siemioński erected the first palace in the first
half of the nineteenth century, but it owes its
present shape to the reconstruction made by
its new owners, the Lubomirskis, in the late
nineteenth century. It was then given the
Neo-Renaissance form. The palace
surrounded by a large, historic park with
many monumental trees.