Routes

Category: Marked tourist route
Bytom – Gliwice (Powstańców Śląskich)
Szlak Powstańców Śląskich
 
author: Admin
Attractions
Routes

graphs

WHERE FROM:
Bytom
WHERE TO:
Gliwice

"Szlak Powstańców Śląskich" to pieszy, niebieski szlak tematyczny, prowadzący z dworca kolejowego w Bytomiu przez Górę Św. Anny do dworca kolejowego w Gliwicach. Projekt szlaku opracował ks. Jerzy Pawlik w latach 1968-1971 z okazji 60. rocznicy III powstania śląskiego. Po drodze mijane są miejscowości w których walczyli powstańcy śląscy w latach 1919-1921: Bytom, Piekary Śląskie, Radzionków, Tarnowskie Góry, Kamieniec, Boniowice, Pniów, Pisarzowice, Łubie, Toszek, Płużniczka, Strzelce Opolskie, Góra Świętej Anny, Kędzierzyn Koźle, Rachowice i Kozłów. Wyjątkowym miejscem jest Góra Św. Anny w województwie opolskim, o którą w maju 1921 r. powstańcy toczyli zacięte walki z wojskami niemieckimi. Wydarzenie to upamiętnia pomnik Czynu Powstańczego autorstwa Xawerego Dunikowskiego


The main way of travelling
Difficulty level Travel time [min]
walking easy 0,00 [min]
Detailed route parameters
Name
value
Total distance [km]
181,23
Total uphill distance [km]
53,35
Total downhill distance [km]
53,34
Total flat distance [km]
74,54
Total uphill altitude [m]
2018,00
Total downhill altitude [m]
2071,00
Minimum altitude [m.a.s.l.]
167,00
Average altitude [m.a.s.l.]
255,02
Maximum altitude [m.a.s.l.]
386,00

Szlak Powstańców Śląskich

Towns/cities on the road:
Bytom;Piekary Śląskie;Radzionków;Tarnowskie Góry;Kamieniec;Boniowice;Pniów;Pisarzowice;Łubie;Toszek;Płużniczka;Strzelce Opolskie;Góra Świętej Anny;Kędzierzyn Koźle;Rachowice;Kozłów;Gliwice
Trail length: 182,1
Trail length in the Silesian Voivodeship: 182,1
Voivodeships: Silesian

See also

Bytom
Dworcowa Street in Bytom links two squares – the Kościuszko and Michał Wolski Squares. After bringing the standard gauge railway to the city at the end of the 60s of the nineteenth century, the street became the main thoroughfare leading from the train station to the center of Bytom. The street took on the elegant appearance in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, when town houses and hotels were built here. Most of them were given an impressive Art Nouveau and Eclectic look.
Bytom
In the city centre of Bytom, at Moniuszko Street, there are two important institutions associated with music: The Silesian Opera and Frederic Chopin School of Music. The buildings of the both institutions are architectural monuments. The school is housed in a nineteenth-century neo-Gothic edifice. It was designed by Paul Jackisch, a Bytom architect, whose whole life was bound to the city
Bytom
Saint Margaret’s Hill in Bytom, popularly called Małgorzata, which in Polish is a diminutive for Margaret, rises to the south of the today’s city centre. A Piast stronghold, protected by the backwater of the small river Bytomka, was built on the top of the hill. In 1160s, Duke Bolesław IV the Curly of Kraków had funded a church here. The foundation of the chuch was presented on the so called Jaksa Tympanum, which once adorned the church of Saint Michael in Wrocław. Nowadays, on the hill, there is a neo-Gothic church surrounded by a graveyard.
Bytom
Bytom is fortunate to have one of the largest complexes of historic Secession architecture. A Striking example of this style is the building of the Bolesław Chrobry Fourth Secondary School situated at the Władysław Sikorski Square. The building was erected by Carl Brugger, a Bytom building counselor in the early twentieth century. It distinguishes itself by an avant-corps decorated with the coat of arms of Bytom and a small clock tower crowned with a dome.
Bytom
Jews played an important role in the economy and culture of Bytom from the eighteenth to the mid-twentieth century, but the earliest mention of their presence in the city comes from the first half of the fourteenth century. In the middle of the eighteenth century, they got some land from Count Henckel von Donnersmarck, owner of the State Country of Bytom, and they were granted the right to establish a cemetery on the city embankments. At the end of the nineteenth century, the graveyard was already too small for the Jewish community, and in 1860, a new cemetery was established at Piekarska Street. At the end of the nineteenth century, the last burial took place took place in the old cemetery. In 1960s, the cemetery was destroyed, and the gravestones were removed.
See more