Lyski is a communal village located in the south of the Silesian voivodeship. In this old village it is worthwhile to see, among others, an Eclectic Church of Saint Margaret, as well as buildings of the old House of Paupers of Saint Joseph, which was founded by Józef Połednik in the middle of the nineteenth century. In the village cemetery an interesting funerary chapel of the Połednik family has been preserved.
In the village of Zwonowice located amidst the forests of the Landscape Park "Cistercian Landscape Compositions of Rudy Wielkie", one can admire an interesting hunting lodge from the mid-nineteenth century on the mountain of Winna Góra. The building was erected during the reign of Duke Victor I, whose residence lay in nearby Rudy Wielkie. Previously, there was a farm building on this site, which belonged to the Cistercian monastery of Rudy Wielkie.
Although Czernica, located close to Rydułtów, is a small town, it boasts many interesting monuments. It is worthwhile to see an old inn, which for some time also served as a church, and a railroad tunnel from the nineteenth century. However, the most remarkable is a neo-Gothic palace built by the Roth family between 1880 and 1885. It is neatly restored. The palace houses public institutions. You should bear in mind that Henryk Mikołaj Górecki, an outstanding Polish composer, was born in Czernica.
Dzimierz is a village which lies in the southern part of Silesia, in
the district of Rybnik, roughly halfway between Kuźnia Raciborska
and Rydułtowy. The most interesting monument here is a modest
chateau from the second half of the nineteenth century. A few
decades earlier, the property had belonged to the Mendelssohn
family. In 1823, Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy one of the most
famous composers of Romantic period, who was related to the
owners, visited the place.
In Rydułtowy, a mining town situated between Rybnik and Wodzisław Śląski, there is the railroad tunnel which is oldest in Poland and the longest in Silesia, stretching from the housing estate of Orłowiec to the fields to the east of Czernica. The tunnel was built at the end of the 1850s for the railroad line connecting Racibórz with Rybnik and further with Katowice. It is 724 meters long. On the first days of WW2, Polish sappers blew it up. It was rebuilt in 1942.