The Refuge of Peace is a life-work of Mother Eve from Miechowice, a person famous all over Silesia. Waleska von Tiele-Winckler, named Mother Eve, was an aristocrat, who devoted her life to helping the poor and needy. In 1890, the first residential care center, called the Refuge of Peace, was opened in Miechowice near Bytom (now a district of the city). In the following years, new buildings were added, creating a center of charity care homes, a nursing school, and even its own church.
Apart from the ruins of the palace and outbuildings, the Tiele Winckler Palace Park, known under its present name as the
People's Park, is all that have remained of the once beautiful the palace and park. It was founded as a landscape garden in the early nineteenth century, and was extended 50 years later, retaining the previous spatial layout. Numerous exotic trees were planted here. The park, though a bit run down today, is on the list of monuments.
The Church of the Holy Cross in Bytom Miechowice was
built between 1856 and 1864, at the initiative of Maria
Winckler, the owner of the local estate and many
industrial plants. It replaced the old church, described in
the poem by Norbert Bończyk as an "old church of
Miechów”. The neo-Gothic building was designed by
August Soller. Inside the church, one can see, among
others, a statue of Madonna, the last work of the famous
Silesian sculptor Theodore Kalide.
The building of the old power station of the steel plant “Bobrek” at Konstytucji Street is the only remnant of the ironworks operating here for nearly a half century. The building once housed some industrial gas plant blast equipment. The brick buildings of the power station were erected in two stages at the beginning of the last century. They refer to the style of Romanesque architecture.
In Bobrek, the district of Bytom bordering Zabrze, there is the
largest city's historical workers’ housing estate - the so-called
“Nowa Kolonia Robotnicza” (“New Workers’ Colony”), which
was established in the early decades of the last century for the
families workers of the iron factory "Julia" (later named
"Zygmunt") and of the coal mine "Graefin Johanna "(later
named Bobrek "). Most of the more than a hundred multifamily homes were built in the style of Historicism with some
elements of Secession.
We can now take a train ride from Bytom to Miasteczko Śląskie in small coaches of the Upper Silesian Narrow Gauge Railways. We get on the train at the railway station of Bytom Karb Wąskotorowy and get off near the reservoir of Nakło–Chechło. Few people know that it is the oldest operating narrow-gauge railway line in the world. The first stretches of the line were launched as early as in 1853. In the following decades, in Upper
Silesia, a network of lines connection was constructed, which in its heyday was nearly 250 km long.
Coal mine shaft Maciej is a complex of buildings of the former coal mine "Concordia", which is situated in the district...
Coal mine shaft Maciej is a complex of buildings of the former coal mine "Concordia", which is situated in the district of Zabrze - Maciejów. The interiors refer to the trends of post-industrial buildings. Here you can try an excellent meal and feel the unique atmosphere of this place.
Restaurant "Kuchnia Otwarta" specializes in a traditional Polish cuisine, and all the dishes served are based exclusivel...
Restaurant "Kuchnia Otwarta" specializes in a traditional Polish cuisine, and all the dishes served are based exclusively on natural and local ingredients. The dining room is open to the kitchen, dishes are serve with the principles of the French service.
The restaurant sunlight is the hotel’s flagship, available not only for hotel guests. The restaurant, flooded with natur...
The restaurant sunlight is the hotel’s flagship, available not only for hotel guests. The restaurant, flooded with natural light, open space offers room for up to 160 guests. The interiors are full of distinctive colours combined with minimalist forms.