Category: Cultural Heritage
The Jewish Cemetery and the Synagoge in Wielowieś

The oldest surviving synagogue in Upper Silesia is situated in Wielowieś, a small village located midway between Pyskowice and Zawadzkie. It was erected in the second half of the eighteenth century. An untypical dome crowning the tower gave an exotic character to the village until 1938, when the Nazi barbarians ordered the demolition of the dome. Outside the village there is a cemetery of the local Jews.

street Gminna 27
44-1897 Wielowieś
Upper Silesian Agglomeration
in the country
General Information
: historic cemeteries
Prices & amenities
: admission free
: whole year

Sound files



In Wielowieć, which lies in the district of Gliwice, there are several monuments worth visiting, among them the residence, which was originally built for Count Verdugo in 1748 Since then, the facility was rebuilt and extended several times, resulting in a form markedly different from the eighteenth-century. Today, the palace houses several institutions, which it (at least from the front) is well-kept. Around the residence there is a 3-acre park.
Sieroty located in the commune of Wielowieś is one of the villages of the district of Gliwice. The Wooden Architecture Trail of the Silesia province runs through this interesting place. There is a historic parish church of All Saints, which has a very long history. The building has an interesting form, because it is a brick and wooden construction. Inside the church, we can see the precious Gothic polychromy, now partially not clearly visible.
The Chapel of Our Lady of Sorrows in Goj is widely regarded as one of the most beautiful field chapels in Upper Silesia. The first such building was erected in Goj in the first half of the seventeenth century. The present one is about one hundred years younger. The image of Our Lady of Sorrows, which for centuries has attracted pilgrims from many neighbouring vilages and towns, is highly venerated here. According to tradition, Goj was to be a place of pagan worship.
One of the monuments of Świbie, a village in the district of Gliwice is a late- eighteenth and early- nineteenth- century manor house. Originally, this building had one storey, but due to the successive renovations and adding subsequent floors, the manor house was converted into three-storey residence at the beginning of the twentieth century. In the course of time, it changed its style - from Classicism to Neo-Gothic. Today, the house, not in a very good condition, is privately owned and can only be seen from the outside.
The church of Saint Lawrence in Zacharzowice is one of the monuments of the Wooden Architecture Trail of the Silesia province. It was built about 1570 and has survived - despite many renovations - to this day in the state which is not much different from the original. The wooden building is a small log construction whose walls and roof are covered with shingles. The interior houses several historic Baroque monuments of the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries. Some parts of the precious late- Gothic altar triptych were stolen in 1997.
The present palace in Tworóg, which is a large communal village situated on the banks of the river Stoła amid the vast Lubliniec Forests, comes from the second half of the eighteenth century. It is a Classicist building. It was erected at the time, when the Collon family was the owners of Tworóg. After them, the palace belonged to the Renard family and later, to the Princes zu Hohenlohe Ingelfingen. At present, the palace houses offices of the communal authorities.
See more

Silesian Tastes Culinary Trail

Coal mine shaft Maciej is a complex of buildings of the former coal mine "Concordia", which is situated in the district... More>>
Restaurant "Kuchnia Otwarta" specializes in a traditional Polish cuisine, and all the dishes served are based exclusivel... More>>
It is a family confectionery that was founded in early 1990s.