Żywiec Lake was created by the damming of the Soła river in the 60s of the last century whose valley was divided by a dam. The southern end of the lake, located within the Żywiecka Valley, almost reaches the area of downtown Żywiec. The northern part of the lake (in the vicinity of the dam) occupies a narrow valley, cutting into the slopes of the Little Beskids. The Żywiec reservoir is used for producing energy, flood control and tourism and recreation.
The church of St Mark in Żywiec is a little bit less known monument of the city. This building was erected in the second half
of the nineteenth century on the site of an earlier wooden
church. The most interesting and historic items of the
equipment of that older church were transferred to the National
Museum in Kraków. Inside the church of St Mark we can see a seventeenth-century sculpture, instead.Aside from the church, while visiting this part of this city, it is worth an old cemetery with a neo-Gothic chapel and tombstones of distinguished inhabitants.
In the north-eastern part of Żywiec, on the edge of the district called Moszczanica, there is manor complex, whose major part is a building dating from 1828. In 1934, a few months before his death, Marshal Józef Pilsudski visited the manor house. In recent years, there have been many ideas how to revitalize the object, which after years of the communist regime and several changes of its purpose, is in not in good state of preservation.
Żywiec is proud of its roots dating back to the thirteenth century and of the town privileges granted to it probably in the second half of that century. However, on its present site the town was founded at the beginning of the fifteenth century. It was then when the market square and the streets which run from its corners were laid out, and in the neighborhood the parish church was built. This urban layout has survived to the present day. Most of the buildings date from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Among older buildings worth mentioning are the stone bell tower and the Cathedral of the Nativity of Our Lady.
The church of the Holy Cross in Żywiec, also called the church of the Three Crosses is located in the part of town called Rudze. It dates from the late fourteenth century. It was originally built in the Gothic style, but then over the centuries it changed its appearance. According to tradition, the church was built by the settlers, who had been brought to the region by the Thurzon family to search for iron ore on the hills around the city.
KARCZMA ŻYWIECKA zlokalizowana jest w samym centrum miasta. To miejsce niezwykłe, o szczególnej atmosferze. Zadowoli smakoszy o wyrafinowanych gustach kulinarnych oraz wielbicieli tradycyjnego góralskiego klimatu.