One of the Częstochowa sanctuaries is the church of the
Divine Mercy, also known as the Valley of the Divine
Mercy. It is located at the western foot of Jasna Góra. It is
one of the younger centers of worship. It was built in the
first years after World War II, when the Pallottines built a
monastic house and a church on the site of an old
brickyard. In the following years, a painting of the Merciful
Christ, painted according to the vision of Saint Sister
Faustina, was placed in the church.
The church of Saints Barbara and Andrew the Apostle is
located in the vicinity of the monastery of Jasna Góra,
with which its history is closely associated. According to
tradition, in the fifteenth century, the picture of the
Black Madonna was stolen, and the damaged picture
was abandoned south of the walls of the monastery. It
was at this site that a small church was erected in the
seventeenth century. Its distinguishing feature is the
cylindrical tower. The church is also known as the
Sanctuary of the Hurt Icon of the Lady of Częstochowa.
The Museum of the Archdiocese of Częstochowa is the
youngest of its kind in Poland. It collects a number of
monuments of religious art, which come from different
ages, including around 100 paintings and 120 sculptures
and vessels and vestments. Many of the objects
exhibited here belong to the collection of monuments,
which was started by Teodor Kubina, the first bishop of
the Częstochowa diocese in 1925. Therefore, the
museum now bears his name.
A few months before the Second World War, the
Częstochowa region became one of the places where
fortifications were being constructed fairly quickly. In
fact, their plans date back as early as 1934. They were
developed by Major Jan Wańkowicz. The fortifications,
erected by September 1939, played a certain role in
the defensive war. There are 12 such objects, which
have been preserved in good condition to this day.
The Cemetery of Saint Roch in Częstochowa is the
oldest graveyard in the city, dating back to the first half
of the seventeenth century. In the eighteenth century,
the cemetery was enlarged. Among the tombstones,
we can see many historic monuments from the
nineteenth century. The church of Saints Sebastian and
Roch, located at the cemetery a building consecrated
in 1680. It stands on the site of an earlier chapel. The
cemetery and the church lie in the western part of the
city, called Częstochówka.
The Museum of the 600th Anniversary of Jasna Góra is one
of the several exhibitions at the monastery of
Częstochowa. The museum, located near the chapel of
the Miraculous Image, in the premises of the former
printing office, which operated here from the seventeenth
century to the time of its closure by the Russian
occupants in 1864. The exhibition, consisting of various
departments, was opened in 1982. The idea of creating
the museum was associated with the jubilee celebration
of the foundation of the monastery.
Hotel Villa Verde Restaurant is located in the heart of Cracow-Czestochowa Upland, near Zawiercie. It is surrounded by f...
Hotel Villa Verde Restaurant is located in the heart of Cracow-Czestochowa Upland, near Zawiercie. It is surrounded by forest and not far from two national roads: Katowice-Warszawa and Cracow- Zawiercie and airports in Katowice-Pyrzowice (27 km) and Cracow-Balice (75 km).