The first mention of the Jewish settlers in Gliwice comes from
the seventeenth century. In the eighteenth century, there were
several Jewish families in the city. In 1812, they built their first
synagogue. Three years later, they founded the oldest
cemetery at the current Na Piasku Street. About 500
gravestones, mostly made of sandstone, have survived. The
most magnificent is the neo-Classicist mausoleum of the Meyer
family. Many members of the known Troplowitz family were on
The present building of the Faculty of Energy and
Environmental Engineering of the Silesian University
of Technology is one of the most spectacular
manifestations of German Functionalist architecture
in Silesia, enriched with elements of Expressionism.
The building was erected in 1927-1930, for the
Joseph von Eichendorff National Higher Secondary
School. The project was developed under the
direction of Karl Schabik, a city construction adviser.
The Church of Christ the King in Gliwice is one of the most interesting interwar, sacral buildings in Silesia. The church was built in the district of Zatorze in 1934-35. It is made of brick. It was designed by the architect Karl Mayr, who gave an expressionist-modernist shape to it. Inside the church there are very interesting, original, pre-war stained glass windows and a fresco depicting Christ the King (by Karl Platzek).
Dom Pamięci Żydów Górnośląskich to nowo utworzony oddział Muzeum w Gliwicach, powstały w dawnym domu przedpogrzebowym, mieszczącym się na terenie cmentarza żydowskiego. Budynek znajduje się w gliwickiej dzielnicy Zatorze przy ul. Poniatowskiego, obok Cmentarza Lipowego.
The history of the Gliwice Jews dates back to the seventeenth century, but in greater numbers, they began to settle here a hundred year later. The first synagogue was founded in 1812, and in 1861, another one was opened. The new Jewish cemetery, located at Poniatowski street, was founded in 1902 - 1903, because due to the tremendous growth of the Jewish population the old cemetery at Na Piasku Street became too small. Originally, the new cemetery area was 2.5 hectares.
Coal mine shaft Maciej is a complex of buildings of the former coal mine "Concordia", which is situated in the district...
Coal mine shaft Maciej is a complex of buildings of the former coal mine "Concordia", which is situated in the district of Zabrze - Maciejów. The interiors refer to the trends of post-industrial buildings. Here you can try an excellent meal and feel the unique atmosphere of this place.
This restaurant has an elegant and spacious interior with summer patio. It is located in a charming place next to Rybnic...
This restaurant has an elegant and spacious interior with summer patio. It is located in a charming place next to Rybnickie Lake, surrounded by forest and water. Professional staff makes this restaurant a perfect place for family or business meeting.